Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mobin.qasim
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 19, 2013 7:23 pm
Full Name: Mobin Qasim
Contact:

Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by mobin.qasim » Jan 26, 2014 7:27 pm

Hi Guys, I'm using Veeam B&R v6.5. I've configured multiple backup jobs and while running 2 jobs at a time, Veeam B&R server utilise CPU 100% continuously.
It's installed on Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise and using separate MS SQL server 2008 R2. Previously my Veeam server was configured as 4 CPUs and CPU was spiking to 100%, so I changed it to 8 CPUs but same results. Can someone please tell me if there is any guide which I can follow to optimize CPU performance.

Let me share my current and previous configuration.



Current configuration :

Number of virtual sockets = 4
CPU spiking 100%
Number of cores per socket = 2 ----------------------



Previous configuration :-
Number of virtual sockets = 2
CPU spiking 100%
Number of cores per socket = 2 ----------------------


Regards,

Mobin Qasim

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22436
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 26, 2014 7:48 pm

Hello Mobin,

Actually it is fine to see high CPU utilization on the backup server, assuming that it is also playing the role of the proxy server and you run multiple jobs through this proxy in parallel. BTW, what is the compression level you have configured for the backup jobs?

Thank you!

mobin.qasim
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 19, 2013 7:23 pm
Full Name: Mobin Qasim
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by mobin.qasim » Jan 26, 2014 7:58 pm

Vitaliy, thanks for the reply. I have two different proxy servers configured for the Veeam B&R. I can only run 2 jobs at a time. If I start the 3rd job, it shows started, but in the stats it shows something like " Waiting for backup Infrastructure resource availability". Is there a way I can take better use of those two proxies I've configured? Just so you know, I'm using compression level as Optimal (recommended) and deduplication is enabled.

Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by Gostev » Jan 26, 2014 9:31 pm

Perhaps your 2nd backup proxy does not provide the high performance transport type (direct SAN or hot add), and can only do network mode processing (NBD). If you have auto proxy selection enabled, B&R scheduler will not assign tasks to the network proxies if there are high performance proxies present that could handle the same task, and will rather have the job waiting for said proxies instead. Thanks!

mobin.qasim
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 19, 2013 7:23 pm
Full Name: Mobin Qasim
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by mobin.qasim » Jan 27, 2014 8:02 am

Thanks for the reply.Both proxies transport type is set at Direct SAN and also auto proxy selection is enabled. Just to give you a bit more detail. Concurrent tasks are set to 4. If I increase the size, would that make difference in running multiple jobs at a time or is it how it works e.g. once 2 jobs are completed and then run the following?
Cheers

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16228
Liked: 1323 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by v.eremin » Jan 27, 2014 8:50 am

Hi, Mobin, I'm wondering whether all the job write to one repository, and, if so, what is specified as the number of simultaneous tasks the given repository can handle. Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22436
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2014 9:01 am

mobin.qasim wrote:Both proxies transport type is set at Direct SAN and also auto proxy selection is enabled.
Assuming that both proxies have datastore LUNs mounted in the same way and increasing the number of concurrent tasks on the proxy server gives no difference, I would agree with Vladimir and take a look at the repository configuration.

mobin.qasim
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 19, 2013 7:23 pm
Full Name: Mobin Qasim
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by mobin.qasim » Jan 27, 2014 2:32 pm

I've also 2 repositories configured and both of them are set "Limit maximum concurrent jobs count to: 4". Do I need to make any changes?
Again my question is, as I've two proxies and two repositories configured, is CPU 100% utilisation still normal?

Cheers

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22436
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2014 2:43 pm

Yes, high CPU utilization is normal due to data compression, in version 7 we have lowered CPU resource utilization, so you may want to upgrade your current installation.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17818
Liked: 1491 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by foggy » Jan 27, 2014 2:45 pm

What transport mode is effectively used to retrieve data from the source storage (this info is available as one of the following tags right next to the proxy server name in the job statistics window: [san], [hotadd], [nbd])? What kind of proxies are you using - am I understanding right that one of them is the default one, installed as a part of Veeam B&R installation (virtual)? Is another one also virtual? Does it have access to the source datastore?

Also, what processes do consume CPU during the backup?

mobin.qasim
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 19, 2013 7:23 pm
Full Name: Mobin Qasim
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by mobin.qasim » Jan 28, 2014 8:34 pm

Hi Foggy, I can see [Hotadd] in the job stats. And both proxies are Virtual. In fact, there are 3 proxies in total.
1- Default Veeam Backup Server Proxy
2- Separate Server
3- separate Server

mobin.qasim
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 19, 2013 7:23 pm
Full Name: Mobin Qasim
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by mobin.qasim » Jan 28, 2014 8:46 pm

Vitaliy, will be looking to upgrade to v7 soon. Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by Gostev » Jan 28, 2014 8:48 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, high CPU utilization is normal due to data compression, in version 7 we have lowered CPU resource utilization, so you may want to upgrade your current installation.
Short answer to the original question: it's normal for versions prior to v7. Compression algorithm we used to use was very CPU intensive.

mobin.qasim
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 19, 2013 7:23 pm
Full Name: Mobin Qasim
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by mobin.qasim » Jan 28, 2014 8:58 pm

Thanks for the reply Gostev.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17818
Liked: 1491 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Jobs Utilising CPU 100% v6.5

Post by foggy » Jan 29, 2014 11:39 am

mobin.qasim wrote:I have two different proxy servers configured for the Veeam B&R. I can only run 2 jobs at a time. If I start the 3rd job, it shows started, but in the stats it shows something like " Waiting for backup Infrastructure resource availability".
I was trying to explain this behavior, hence my question regarding datastore access above. Btw, are other proxy servers ever assigned backup tasks or all the activity is performed by a single proxy (default one?) while other ones are also idle?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 37 guests