Veeam network

VMware specific discussions

Veeam network

Veeam Logoby AlexWhit » Thu May 28, 2015 11:02 am

Hi guys.

Just a quick question. when doing a replication does the network activity go via the management network or the network that the netowrk that the proxy is installed on to?

i have 1 physical Veeam B&R server and 1 VMware host server. i am looking at adding a second vmware host at this site. just wondering hows best to speed up the transfers,

thanks
AlexWhit
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Alex Whittaker

Re: Veeam network

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu May 28, 2015 11:36 am

How data is retrieved from production storage depends on what transport mode is used by the source proxy server and then transferred directly between source and target proxy servers. You can find a number of existing threads regarding setting up a dedicated network for replication traffic.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam network

Veeam Logoby AlexWhit » Thu May 28, 2015 11:39 am

Thanks foggy

the proxys are Virtual i was just curious when the data is transferred to the second host/proxy
AlexWhit
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Alex Whittaker

Re: Veeam network

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu May 28, 2015 11:45 am

Depends on how your proxies are connected. You can set up separate NIC's for replication traffic and configure corresponding routing rules to direct data as required.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests