Veeam on two domain

VMware specific discussions

Veeam on two domain

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:49 pm

Dear all,
our Infrastructuur has two different active directory.
domain1.lan and domain2.lan on two different subnet on the same building.
our Veeam is member of domain1.lan. the idea behind is to backup the domain2.lan computers with the same VEEAM from domain1.lan
when I am trying to do so it asks for admin account of domain2.lan however it not to detect because VEEAM is all member the domain1.lan

can you advise how to do so ? has VEEAM to not be member of any domain to be able to do the backup for both sides ?

thank you
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: Veeam on two domain

Veeam Logoby DaveWatkins » Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:36 pm

You simple add the credentials from the second domain and assign those credentials to the VM's in domain2, or assign it to jobs if all the VM's in the job are from domain2
DaveWatkins
Expert
 
Posts: 252
Liked: 61 times
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Veeam on two domain

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:28 am

Julien,

Dave is correct. To give a bit more information: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

With the credential manager you won't be able to browse domain2 (unless you have trusts and the user you are using can browse AD of domain 2 but that is probably a completely different setup) so you will need to fill-in the credentials "manually". You can do that like: domain2\userwithrights and then add the password. Then you can use that specific one for your backup jobs and guest processing and so on

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests