Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
briguyiu
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jan 24, 2014 11:31 pm
Full Name: Brian Killigrew
Contact:

Veeam Replication Process Question

Post by briguyiu » Jul 23, 2014 4:27 pm

We are using Veeam to replicate a good portion of our infrastructure to our DR site. We are only keeping one restore point, so my question is, does it just overwrite the previous day's replica, or does it copy a new one, and then delete the old? The only reason that I ask, is that the replica's are going to a thin provisioned LUN, which keeps balooning to almost full, even though VMware shows it has plenty of space. Every few days I have to recover the space with vmktools, so the SAN matches up in size reporting with VMware.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication Process Question

Post by foggy » Jul 23, 2014 4:34 pm

During each replica job run, the new restore point is created and then retention mechanism comes into play and deletes those restore points that fall out of the specified retention period.

briguyiu
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jan 24, 2014 11:31 pm
Full Name: Brian Killigrew
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication Process Question

Post by briguyiu » Jul 23, 2014 5:11 pm

That's what I figured, and makes the most sense. I'm guessing that is why that is. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ccouchman and 29 guests