Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Veeam Replication - Replicate VM to two Sites

Post by Treeeman » May 27, 2014 1:46 pm

Hi,

i have some VMs i will replicate twice. One Replication should be used for Disaster Recovery. The productive VM and the Disaster Recovery VM will be in the same VMware Cluster but on a different Storage an Fire Protection Area. Additionally i will replicate the productive VM in a second Laboratory Cluster which i am using for Testing Issues.

What is the best way to solve this issue?
I tried to replicate the "DR" VM to my Laboratory Cluster so i just have the Snapshot the productive VM once. But i realized that this didn't work and my Replicas crashed from time to time.
Any other ideas? Or is the only way to replicate the productive VM twise (first for DR and second for Laboratory)?

Many Thanks!
Best Regards
Marco

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Replicate VM to two Sites

Post by veremin » May 27, 2014 1:48 pm

Hi, Marco,

If you want to replicate VMs to two different locations, the best option will be to create two different replication jobs pointing them to different targets.

Thanks.

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Replicate VM to two Sites

Post by Treeeman » May 27, 2014 1:55 pm

Hi,

ok. Thanks for your Feedback.

Best Regards
Marco

rweis
Veeam Software
Posts: 215
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2011 7:46 pm
Full Name: Randy Weis
Location: Philadelphia, PA, US
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Replicate VM to two Sites

Post by rweis » May 01, 2018 3:06 pm

the best option will be to create two different replication jobs pointing them to different targets.
Are there scheduling concerns, resource limitations and potential conflicts with two separate jobs?
Randy Weis
Enterprise SE, NA Strategic Accounts

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Replicate VM to two Sites

Post by veremin » May 01, 2018 3:17 pm 1 person likes this post

If both jobs are created on the same backup server, those conflicts will be resolved by backup server automatically: it will put conflicting jobs on hold or add them to waiting queue.

Anyway, just to be on the safe side it might be better to set different schedules for jobs that replicate the same VM.

Thanks.

rweis
Veeam Software
Posts: 215
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2011 7:46 pm
Full Name: Randy Weis
Location: Philadelphia, PA, US
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Replicate VM to two Sites

Post by rweis » May 01, 2018 3:19 pm

Thanks.
Randy Weis
Enterprise SE, NA Strategic Accounts

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests