Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by Treeeman » May 27, 2014 1:19 pm

Hi,

i have a litte Problem and need your help.

My Setup:
- One physical Veeam Server which is also a Proxy (VMware backup Proxy).
- Two additonal physical Proxy-Server
- Each Proxy have DirectSAN Access and is configured for four Jobs at the same time.
- There is no "Concurrent Task" Limit on my Repository
- I have enabled "Parallel VM and Disk processing"

I want to replicate about 7 VMs at the same time every two hours. So i created one Job for each VM with the same start time. Now if all VMs are processed i get on some VMs following message:
Ressource not ready: VMware backup Proxy

Is there Limit in missed or why i am getting this Message?
Many Thanks!

Best Regards
Marco

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by foggy » May 27, 2014 1:31 pm

Marco, how many disks do the backed up VMs have? What are the transport mode settings for the proxies? Can you confirm that all of them do have direct SAN access to the source datastore (you can see the LUNs in the Disk Management snap-in)?

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by Treeeman » May 27, 2014 1:38 pm

Hi foggy,

VMs with 1 Disk: 2
VMs with 2 Disks: 3
VMs with 3 Disks: 1
VMs with 5 Disks: 1

All three Proxies have the Transport Mode "Direct SAN Access" with Failover the Network enabled
Yes, all of them have direct SAN Access. I can see the source Datastores in my Windows Disk Management. Additionally i run each Replication Job one time on each Proxy to ensure, SAN Transport Mode is used for Replication.

Thanks!
Regards
Marco

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by foggy » May 27, 2014 1:40 pm

Do you use automatic proxy selection for all the jobs?

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by Treeeman » May 27, 2014 1:54 pm

Yes

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by foggy » May 27, 2014 2:21 pm

Are the same proxies used as the target ones for replication jobs?

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by Treeeman » May 27, 2014 2:26 pm

Yes

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by Treeeman » May 27, 2014 2:30 pm

Hi,

i don't know if i should open a new thread for this.
I also have some other Replication Jobs who target to the same ESXi 5.5U1 Server. If i start multible Jobs at the same time i also get following error:
Ressource not ready: Target VMware host

It seems for me there is also a Limitation for Replications Jobs per ESXi Host. Could this be possible?

Thanks!
Best Regards
Marco

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by foggy » May 27, 2014 2:43 pm

Treeeman wrote: Yes
Then in case where different proxies are used as source and target for the replication job, there will be two tasks for each disk. You can count the tasks assigned to each of the proxy servers when you run all the jobs simultaneously and most likely see that all the available slots are taken.

Also, there is a limitation of using hotadd on target proxies that can concurrently process a single VM disk only.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by foggy » May 27, 2014 3:10 pm

Treeeman wrote:I also have some other Replication Jobs who target to the same ESXi 5.5U1 Server. If i start multible Jobs at the same time i also get following error:
Ressource not ready: Target VMware host
Please see another existing thread on this one.

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by Treeeman » May 30, 2014 6:59 am

Hi,

thanks for your reply.
I will try to add more simultaneously Jobs to my Proxies.
In fact each VM Disk counts as one Job i beliebe, this could be my misstake.
Thanks.

Regards
Marco

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16880
Liked: 1430 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Replication - Ressource not ready ?!

Post by veremin » May 30, 2014 9:31 am

In fact each VM Disk counts as one Job i beliebe, this could be my misstake.
Yes, you're right. One disk means one task. So, you should setup number of simultaneous task that VB&R components (repository, proxy) can handle accordingly. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mandietha and 30 guests