Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
RigelIT
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 15, 2018 2:24 am
Full Name: Richard Chan
Contact:

Veeam replication restart all over again when disrupted

Post by RigelIT » Jan 15, 2018 2:40 am

I am using veeam to replicate to a off-site every 2 hours.
When there is a internet disconnection, the replica will be corrupted and I will have to restore back a good full backup copy and redo the whole replication again.
Is there a method/settings that I can use if any replica is corrupted I can restore back the last good replication instead of starting all over again from a full backup restore?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1743
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Veeam replication restart all over again when disrupted

Post by DGrinev » Jan 15, 2018 9:51 am

Hi Richard and welcome to the community!

The replication job should auto-retry in case when the last session was failed and continue the replica chain.
Just to confirm I get you right, the replication starts a full run every time the job failed? Thanks!

RigelIT
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 15, 2018 2:24 am
Full Name: Richard Chan
Contact:

Re: Veeam replication restart all over again when disrupted

Post by RigelIT » Jan 16, 2018 12:17 am

Yes when the replica is corrupted due to like internet disruption, the replication will not be able to continue. I will need to restore back a good backup copy and redo the replication. The last thing I am thinking is to implement a increment backup following a successful replication. Is there a better way?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1743
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Veeam replication restart all over again when disrupted

Post by DGrinev » Jan 18, 2018 9:57 am

Since the described behavior is unexpected, you should contact the support team and provide the logs so they can find out the real cause of the issue.
Please do not forget to post the case ID here, so we can track it internally. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests