Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
srmvel
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 13, 2018 9:17 am
Full Name: Rajamanivel Rajarathinam
Contact:

VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by srmvel » Jun 13, 2018 9:32 am

Hi All,

I have two sites

one site is NY:- Production vCenter vserver is running with 50 vms

Another site is NJ:-This is called DR site and another vCenter server is running,

We have created a automatic daily replication job with 5 virtual machines.In replication job,we have given the re-ip subnet as 10.20.30.* 255.255.255.0,10.20.30.1 and 10.20.10.30/32(DNS servers)

Every day all the 5 virtual machines are getting replication successfully from NY to NJ without any issues.My question is.... if i want to power on all the five virtual machines (replicated vm from NY) in NJ site,what will be my IP address of those 5 virtual machines? should i assign the IP address manually or automatically it will take in NJ site??

Please check and suggest.

Thanks,
Manivel Rajarathinam

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2872
Liked: 499 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 13, 2018 9:41 am

They will get the IP addresses that you have defined in the ReIP rule. The endings will match (if configured with * in the ReIP wizard).

srmvel
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 13, 2018 9:17 am
Full Name: Rajamanivel Rajarathinam
Contact:

Re: VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by srmvel » Jun 13, 2018 9:55 am

Yeah i have given the re-ip as 10.20.30.*

which ip address vms will take?

because already there are some running vms available with same subnet 10.20.30.* in DR site(NJ SITE).

Thank you,
Manivel RR

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2872
Liked: 499 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 13, 2018 10:29 am

Same ending as on source.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2872
Liked: 499 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 13, 2018 10:30 am

You can do 1:1 ReIP rules if this do not match.

10.10.0.1 => 10.20.30.4 instead of working with the *

srmvel
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 13, 2018 9:17 am
Full Name: Rajamanivel Rajarathinam
Contact:

Re: VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by srmvel » Jun 13, 2018 12:47 pm

Hi

If i go for only one VM,then i can go with 1:1 re ip

This is the collection of 5 virtual machines and given the re-ip subnet as 10.20.30,also other VMs are running within the same subnet.

my question is....how these 5 vms will take the IP address automatically?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2872
Liked: 499 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 13, 2018 3:21 pm

You can create multiple ReIP rules. One for each IP that you want to give 1:1 IPs

Just and example:

1 rule
192.168.0.* => 192.168.1.*

Server 192.168.0.1 will get 192.168.1.1
Server 192.168.0.200 will get 192.168.1.200


2 rules for the 2 server
192.168.0.1 => 192.168.1.5
192.168.0.5 => 192.168.1.6

Then the Servers will get the specified IPs.

srmvel
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 13, 2018 9:17 am
Full Name: Rajamanivel Rajarathinam
Contact:

Re: VEEAM REPLICATION with RE-IP address

Post by srmvel » Jun 29, 2018 1:55 pm

Thanks Andreas!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests