Veeam Snapshot Removing-

VMware specific discussions

Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby martimartin » Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:06 am

Hi Guys;

i use veeam backup & replicator for backup my vms and when i checked from vsphere client it says "some vms have snapshot".
but also these jobs done with successful so why still there are snapshot ? why veeam dosent delete it ? should i delete it by myself ?

regards.
martimartin
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:53 am

Hi Emre,

If you don`t need those snapshots and no backup jobs is currently using them, you can delete them.

By default Veeam removes job-initiated snapshots and checks for orphaned snapshots using Snapshot Hunter.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4862
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby martimartin » Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:55 am

so whats wrong ? why veeam coud'nt remove the snapshots ? or its about vcenter ? or what ?

regards.
martimartin
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:46 am

So, you're checking VMs via vSphere client outside of Veeam console and see that some VMs have snapshots, right? Do those snapshots have "Veeam Helper" labels in their name? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13288
Liked: 971 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby martimartin » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:27 am

So, you're checking VMs via vSphere client outside of Veeam console and see that some VMs have snapshots, right?


yes thats right ! there is no anyjob in Veeam console. But still some VMs have snapshots.
martimartin
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:08 am

And those snapshots are related to Veeam? In other words, they have the given label I was talking about previously, right? If so, and those snapshots aren't removed either by Snapshot Hunter or during subsequent job run, feel free to reach our support team. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13288
Liked: 971 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby martimartin » Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:19 am

yes they have labels "VM NAME - VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT".

thanks.
martimartin
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:39 am

As mentioned, if those aren't automatically deleted during next backup cycle, or Snapshot Hunter doesn't find them and take care about them in automatic fashion, please, open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13288
Liked: 971 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby martimartin » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:55 am

thank you.
martimartin
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby Andanet » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:48 am

Hi a little question, is possible to manually retry snapshot hunter?
Andanet
Service Provider
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:26 pm
Full Name: Antonio

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:06 pm

No, it is triggered during each backup or replication job session.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14744
Liked: 1082 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:38 pm

martimartin wrote:yes they have labels "VM NAME - VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT"

Actually, these snapshots are managed with the snapshot handling engine that has been in the product for a few version now. Snapshot Hunter, which was added in the latest version only, will skip those by design - even if you were to retry it manually. Thing is, Snapshot Hunter is designed to take care of hidden snapshots only (those stuck during removal and not visible in vSphere Client), while clearly the above snapshots are NOT hidden if you can still see them ;)

Right now is the perfect time to open a support case, as we are currently investigating a few corner cases with that primary snapshot handling engine, to be able to address them in v9.

Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests