Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
martimartin
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can
Contact:

Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by martimartin » Jun 01, 2015 7:06 am

Hi Guys;

i use veeam backup & replicator for backup my vms and when i checked from vsphere client it says "some vms have snapshot".
but also these jobs done with successful so why still there are snapshot ? why veeam dosent delete it ? should i delete it by myself ?

regards.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 715 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by Shestakov » Jun 01, 2015 10:53 am

Hi Emre,

If you don`t need those snapshots and no backup jobs is currently using them, you can delete them.

By default Veeam removes job-initiated snapshots and checks for orphaned snapshots using Snapshot Hunter.
Thanks!

martimartin
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by martimartin » Jun 04, 2015 6:55 am

so whats wrong ? why veeam coud'nt remove the snapshots ? or its about vcenter ? or what ?

regards.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by veremin » Jun 04, 2015 9:46 am

So, you're checking VMs via vSphere client outside of Veeam console and see that some VMs have snapshots, right? Do those snapshots have "Veeam Helper" labels in their name? Thanks.

martimartin
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by martimartin » Jun 15, 2015 7:27 am

So, you're checking VMs via vSphere client outside of Veeam console and see that some VMs have snapshots, right?
yes thats right ! there is no anyjob in Veeam console. But still some VMs have snapshots.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by veremin » Jun 15, 2015 8:08 am

And those snapshots are related to Veeam? In other words, they have the given label I was talking about previously, right? If so, and those snapshots aren't removed either by Snapshot Hunter or during subsequent job run, feel free to reach our support team. Thanks.

martimartin
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by martimartin » Jun 15, 2015 8:19 am

yes they have labels "VM NAME - VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT".

thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by veremin » Jun 15, 2015 8:39 am

As mentioned, if those aren't automatically deleted during next backup cycle, or Snapshot Hunter doesn't find them and take care about them in automatic fashion, please, open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly.

martimartin
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 24, 2014 10:02 am
Full Name: Can
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by martimartin » Jun 15, 2015 9:55 am

thank you.

Andanet
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 08, 2015 8:26 pm
Full Name: Antonio
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by Andanet » Nov 12, 2015 11:48 am

Hi a little question, is possible to manually retry snapshot hunter?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by foggy » Nov 12, 2015 12:06 pm

No, it is triggered during each backup or replication job session.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24818
Liked: 3574 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Snapshot Removing-

Post by Gostev » Nov 12, 2015 1:38 pm

martimartin wrote:yes they have labels "VM NAME - VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT"
Actually, these snapshots are managed with the snapshot handling engine that has been in the product for a few version now. Snapshot Hunter, which was added in the latest version only, will skip those by design - even if you were to retry it manually. Thing is, Snapshot Hunter is designed to take care of hidden snapshots only (those stuck during removal and not visible in vSphere Client), while clearly the above snapshots are NOT hidden if you can still see them ;)

Right now is the perfect time to open a support case, as we are currently investigating a few corner cases with that primary snapshot handling engine, to be able to address them in v9.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: allanh and 35 guests