Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
myrdin
Enthusiast
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 02, 2013 4:17 am
Full Name: NIck
Contact:

Veeam upgraded from v7 to v8

Post by myrdin » Nov 07, 2014 3:19 am

Hi folks,

i have just upgraded one v7 (all patches) to v8 and so far:

- the actual upgrade when very smoothly, no errors and very quick. All settings moved and eveything seems basically identical to V8

BUT

- a job that used to take 15 minutes to finish now it takes...more than 1 hour!.

I have to say i didnt recreate a full but i just kept going with incrementals i had on v7. I will recreate a full and then i will see.

thoughts?

myrdin
Enthusiast
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 02, 2013 4:17 am
Full Name: NIck
Contact:

Re: Veeam upgraded from v7 to v8

Post by myrdin » Nov 07, 2014 5:44 am

UPDATE:

Running a full took half the time (??) and i achieved an impressive 18.1X Dedup (???).

The subsequent increment of that full took WAYYYY LESSS after a full.

So guys: if your incrementals are taking forever after upgrading to v8 to an existing job, do a full backup, i guess v8 wants its own vbk format...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18263
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam upgraded from v7 to v8

Post by foggy » Nov 07, 2014 4:01 pm

Nick, it's hard to guess what could cause this behavior without seeing even the job reports and ability to compare them with those of the previous job runs. But it is definitely not a VBK format change. Haven't you enabled encryption for this job by any chance? Btw, are you on vSphere or Hyper-V?

myrdin
Enthusiast
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 02, 2013 4:17 am
Full Name: NIck
Contact:

Re: Veeam upgraded from v7 to v8

Post by myrdin » Nov 07, 2014 9:11 pm

thanks Foggy, no encryption. I am on Vsphere (4.1 thou).

After that it worked very well.

Further testing showed that only one job was affected. Other jobs that ran last night ran without problems, without the need to recreate a full.

The only difference is that the job i had problems with runs every 30 minutes and backups 4 small drives (about 30GB each) and has a LOT of restore points retention is set to 600).

just FYI if this can help

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16896
Liked: 1437 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam upgraded from v7 to v8

Post by veremin » Nov 10, 2014 9:11 am

As Alexander's mentioned, nothing has been changed in .vbk file format. It looks like sporadic issue to me. In case the problem happens again, feel free to open a ticket with our support team. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 26 guests