Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 06, 2013 11:51 pm

Dear all,
i have SQL Server 2012 running , ive created a MSQL database for the Veeam, however after trying to connect to this MSQL while installing it keep giving me error !
opend ports are ?

Code: Select all

TCP 135 - SQL Transact Debugger/RPC
TCP 1433 - SQL Server Default Instance
TCP 1434 - SQL Server Admin Connection
TCP 2382 - SQL Server Browser
TCP 2383 - SQL Analysis Services
TCP 4022 - SQL Service Broker
UDP 1434 - SQL Server Browser Multicast Response
Error

Image


i hope this time my post will not be deleted!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24169
Liked: 3295 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by Gostev » Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am

Unfortunately it will be, because it does not include the ID of support case with debug logs attached. You must include one when posting about any technical issue, or your topic will be removed, as explained when you click New Topic... in big red fond, really hard to miss, and as such can only be ignored purposely, really...

Without seeing the debug logs, we cannot say more than you can read yourself in the error message (there is an invalid connection string to your SQL server).

We will likely need a setup log in this case, our support engineers will instruct you how to collect one once you open a case.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 07, 2013 7:02 pm

My support case number is 00456328.
apologies for posting without the case number!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 1:13 pm

i tried to call the support team unfortunetely no one is there and they notice my Phone number !
any suggestions here?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22517
Liked: 1469 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 08, 2013 1:24 pm

According to your case I can see that our engineer is responding to your emails and is trying to arrange a remote WebEx session to troubleshoot it. Please continue working on your issue with our support team.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 1:43 pm

thank you Vitaliy,
a questions ? what ports need to be open on the firewall for Veeam to connect to the database SQL ?
i've already opend the below ports:
TCP 135 - SQL Transact Debugger/RPC
TCP 1433 - SQL Server Default Instance
TCP 1434 - SQL Server Admin Connection
TCP 2382 - SQL Server Browser
TCP 2383 - SQL Analysis Services
TCP 4022 - SQL Service Broker
UDP 1434 - SQL Server Browser Multicast Response


Note : if i disable the firewall on the SQL server it works, so it firewalling problems now !

waiting for the support is taking long,

can you please provide me the ports numbers that needs to be open on the SQL server to connect the Database ? in the mean while my SQL server firewall is off and i dont want to keep it that way !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22517
Liked: 1469 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 08, 2013 1:49 pm

Julien, I believe you should open the same ports as it is required for SQL Management Studio to connect to the SQL Server. BTW, what about Named Pipes (139/445) traffic?

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 1:56 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Julien, I believe you should open the same ports as it is required for SQL Management Studio to connect to the SQL Server. BTW, what about Named Pipes (139/445) traffic?
those are already open
the SQL ports as wel,
i beleive V7 needs other ports than the normal ones?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16325
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by v.eremin » Oct 08, 2013 1:59 pm

According to the users, in case of SQL 2012 some additional steps might be required in order to allow remote connection. These steps include the following:

1) Right-click on TCP/IP and select Properties.
2) Verify that, under IP2, the IP Address is set to the computer's IP address on the local subnet.
3) Scroll down to IPAll.
4) Make sure that TCP Dynamic Ports is blank. (Mine was set to some 5-digit port number.)
5) Make sure that TCP Port is set to 1433. (Mine was blank.)

Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 2:35 pm

v.Eremin wrote:According to the users, in case of SQL 2012 some additional steps might be required in order to allow remote connection. These steps include the following:

1) Right-click on TCP/IP and select Properties.
2) Verify that, under IP2, the IP Address is set to the computer's IP address on the local subnet.
3) Scroll down to IPAll.
4) Make sure that TCP Dynamic Ports is blank. (Mine was set to some 5-digit port number.)
5) Make sure that TCP Port is set to 1433. (Mine was blank.)

Thanks.
Thank you Erwin,
those ports and configuration where fine however i've noticed Veeam needs ports 9392, 9393 i think those ports are clients one!
i managed to find those ports failler connection from the netstat !
i've opend those two ports and my issues is fixed


for those who out there may face this issue , please make sure those two ports are open !

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16325
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by v.eremin » Oct 08, 2013 2:43 pm

On the SQL server. Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 2:49 pm 1 person likes this post

v.Eremin wrote:On the SQL server. Thanks.
Thank you Erwin,
those ports and configuration where fine however i've noticed Veeam needs ports 9392, 9393 i think those ports are clients one!
i managed to find those ports failler connection from the netstat !
i've opend those two ports and my issues is fixed


for those who out there may face this issue , please make sure those two ports are open !

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16325
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by v.eremin » Oct 08, 2013 2:53 pm

Thanks, Julien, for coming back and updating the topic with the found resolution.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17908
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by foggy » Oct 08, 2013 2:54 pm 3 people like this post

Yep, those are basic ports used by the Veeam Backup service and Veeam Catalog service and they are specified during product installation, in the setup wizard.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 2:58 pm

foggy wrote:Yep, those are basic ports used by the Veeam Backup service and Veeam Catalog service and they are specified during product installation, in the setup wizard.
while installing Veeam to connect to SQL you need to have those ports first open, otherwise you won't be able to pas the installation connection to the SQL

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17908
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by foggy » Oct 08, 2013 3:00 pm 1 person likes this post

jamerson wrote: while installing Veeam to connect to SQL you need to have those ports first open, otherwise you won't be able to pas the installation connection to the SQL
Correct.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 5:02 pm

foggy wrote: Correct.
thank you for your confirmation, all is working fine on my lab now!
the last questions how can i save the configuration to the SQL rather than local C:\Config ?
i've checked the option to change the location but i can't find a way to connect to the SQL,

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22517
Liked: 1469 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 08, 2013 5:48 pm

Veeam B&R stores its configuration in the SQL database, in addition to this, it dumps the backup of the configuration to the folder you have mentioned.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 08, 2013 6:04 pm

Thank you so much Vitaliy,
does it means i can also save VM's Snapshots to the SQL rather than another Partition ?
also when i tried to add the Vsphere server it pop's with CLHelp Root account even i still keep getting error can't connect to the Vsphere on Port 443 !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22517
Liked: 1469 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 08, 2013 6:55 pm

Julien,
jamerson wrote:does it means i can also save VM's Snapshots to the SQL rather than another Partition ?
No, snapshots are not backups, besides backups are not stored in the SQL Server database. VM backups are saved into your repositories.

Are you adding vCenter Server or standalone host? How are you doing it? Are you able to connect to your vSphere Server from the same machine via vSphere Client?

Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 13, 2013 4:16 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Julien,
No, snapshots are not backups, besides backups are not stored in the SQL Server database. VM backups are saved into your repositories.

Are you adding vCenter Server or standalone host? How are you doing it? Are you able to connect to your vSphere Server from the same machine via vSphere Client?

Thanks!
apologies for getting back late to you!
yes its vCenter
can integrate the Veeam to the Vcenter to manage the back-ups from the vCenter?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22517
Liked: 1469 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 13, 2013 5:04 pm

Yes, you can do that, moreover adding vCenter Server as opposed to adding standalone hosts is a recommended way of configuring your backup jobs. If you still can't add the vCenter Server, please do contact our technical team, our engineers will be able to assist you via a remote WebEx session. Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 311
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam V7 Server and SQL

Post by jamerson » Oct 14, 2013 12:16 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, you can do that, moreover adding vCenter Server as apposed to adding standalone hosts is a recommended way of configuring your backup jobs. If you still can't add the vCenter Server, please do contact our technical team, our engineers will be able to assist you via a remote WebEx session. Thanks!
thank you
i am al set,
all is operational again,
one more questions , i've added the vcenter to the servers, is it possible to backup the ESXI server ( physique server) ?
or is Veeam just for Virtualisation ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: govi, muhammad and 14 guests