Veeam v8 and SQL Version

VMware specific discussions

Veeam v8 and SQL Version

Veeam Logoby oli4 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:53 am

Hello all

I try to install Veeam v8 on a MS Windows Server 2012 R2 and MS SQL 2014 SP1. But this seems not to work, it gives me the error:

"specified database is not valid. please choose veeam one database or create new database to proceed"

Also the SQL db customization script is not working.

In the release notes it states that MS SQL 2014 is supported, is MS SQL 2014 SP1 not?

Regards
Oli4
oli4
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:34 am

Re: Veeam v8 and SQL Version

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:03 am

Hi,

I try to install Veeam v8 on a MS Windows Server 2012 R2 and MS SQL 2014 SP1
Could you please clarify that? Are trying to install Veeam Backup and Replication or Veeam ONE?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Veeam v8 and SQL Version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:14 am

Hello,

Are you doing a clean install or trying to re-use some existing database hosted on this SQL Server?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam v8 and SQL Version

Veeam Logoby oli4 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:56 am

Hello,

I try to do a clean installation of Veeam ONE, afterwards I would also like to install Backup & Replication on the same server.

Regards
oli4
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:34 am

Re: Veeam v8 and SQL Version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:20 am

This is fully supported. If you're doing clean installation of Veeam ONE you don't need to select any database. Based on the error message above, you're trying to specify some database that should be used with Veeam ONE installation.

BTW, are you using a remote SQL server by any chance?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam v8 and SQL Version

Veeam Logoby oli4 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 12:41 pm 1 person likes this post

OK, the problem was that with VeeamONE you cannot create an empty db and use that one, with B&R that works.

Thanks & Regards
oli4
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:34 am

Re: Veeam v8 and SQL Version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:53 pm 1 person likes this post

Actually, it should be possible to do that. If you want to pre-create a v8 database, then you can use this one ("F:\Addins\SQLScript"), which is located in the installation ISO image.

P.S. On top of that, if you want to use a remote SQL Server, just point to the SQL Server instance and then the setup will pre-create the database for you. Thanks for the update!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests