Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
SyNtAxx
Expert
Posts: 148
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2015 7:12 pm
Contact:

Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by SyNtAxx » Nov 24, 2016 1:44 pm

Case # 01984571

I recently upgraded to version 9.5 from v9u2 and everything seemed to work fine after the fact except for one job failed with this error: Error: Full storage not found. I use SOBR for targets and what i noticed was the .vbm file seemed to be missing from one of the extents. Copying the .vbm into the extent did nothing as it was removed again once the job was retried. Running an active full on that Job created a new chain and job folder.

Fast forward to last night, eight (8) more jobs that all of the sudden fail and display the same error. The same symptoms appear to be present, missing .vbm in one of the SOBR extents. Something is afoot here and this time active full doesn't do the trick. I cant just simply create new jobs and let them rip, the issue is impacting ~25TB worth of vms and data and will clobber the back end array. We rotate fulls and schedules to keep everything happy.

What I also notice is that the job/data no longer appears under "Backups Disk" as if they job never existed but the data is clearly on the disk target. Rescanning the repositories does nothing to improve the problem.

Anybody else see this? I know it had been a known issue with previous releases and there was a hotfix or SQL fix for it.

Thanks.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5457
Liked: 574 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by Mike Resseler » Nov 25, 2016 6:21 am

syntaxx,

I see you have created a case so that is good. Please let us know the outcome here also. And I hope this is resolved quickly :-)

Mike

SyNtAxx
Expert
Posts: 148
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2015 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by SyNtAxx » Nov 30, 2016 6:40 am

Well, last night 97% of my jobs ran as fulls. .vbm files got nuked, even on jobs that had been recreated and run for 5 days. Something is really wrong. All my backups are MIA as far as veeam is concerned. All new chains, again.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5457
Liked: 574 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by Mike Resseler » Nov 30, 2016 6:51 am

That is not good news. Is support still working on the case?

SyNtAxx
Expert
Posts: 148
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2015 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by SyNtAxx » Nov 30, 2016 2:29 pm

Hoping for escalation to tier 2/3 for development and resolve.

-Nick

ferrus
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 215
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 03, 2015 3:41 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by ferrus » Dec 01, 2016 12:59 pm

Not sure if it's related to the problem above (the error is similar) - but I've had a recurring problem in both v9 and 9.5 - 'Full point not found'
Case #01970878

An Active Full resolved it, but the error has returned on other jobs.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24017
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by Gostev » Dec 01, 2016 1:26 pm

The fact of life is that the bug will not be escalated to R&D, investigated and fixed until you keep agreeing with your support engineer to just do an Active Full every time you have this issue.

layte
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by layte » Dec 02, 2016 3:59 pm

I had the exact same thing happen to every single one of my copy jobs after upgrading to 9.5

Veeam support were of little help and even tried to make out the jobs were disable for a number of days as the root of the issue. Not only were the jobs not disabled, why would them being disabled for a few days cause Veeam to trash them all and start again. In the end I had to create new storage repositories on the Data Domain and recreate all the copy jobs.

I am left being very disappointed in Veeam, and will be making some tough decisions when the support renewal is due.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by foggy » Dec 02, 2016 4:05 pm

Have you provided this feedback to support management (there's an option for this right on the customer support portal)? Otherwise how would we be able to react.

ferrus
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 215
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 03, 2015 3:41 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by ferrus » Dec 02, 2016 4:19 pm

OK, speaking personally, it's quite infrequent and for us, too easily remedied - to consider entering into a prolonged investigation with support.
That's why I just mentioned it here, to support what has already been posted above (the other poster's issues, seem more serious than our own).

However, the next time it happens - I can certainly put a call in, and request a deeper investigation.

applc
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 01, 2010 3:48 pm
Full Name: Chris A
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by applc » Dec 12, 2016 11:53 pm

I had the exact same issue twice now. I have a brand new install of 9.5, just installed and configured over a week ago. This is a completely new green-field setup. It had been running great for several days. Then yesterday a job failed with Error: Full storage not found. Since we aren't using the system fully, I deleted the jobs, repositories, and all data. Then I recreated everything and now that job is running fine. Then today I had the exact same thing happen to another job. For now I am going to reactivate the backups on my old system, and call Veeam support tomorrow to troubleshoot further. In my case the backup disk data simply disappears. I rescan the repository and it completes saying 1 skipped. But no data appears. Since the storage is an Exagrid appliance, I can't easily view the file contents in the repository. We will see what support says.

applc
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 01, 2010 3:48 pm
Full Name: Chris A
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by applc » Dec 13, 2016 3:10 pm

I opened a ticket with Veeam support. Case # 02007660. The Veeam engineer suspected it's possible the Exagrid unit may have changed the modified date on the .vbk file. But he admitted he wasn't entirely sure this was the cause. He asked for more logs, and left the ticket open. Nevertheless I will be working with Exagrid to investigate the possibility that it may have somehow modified the Veeam backup files. Moving forward, the Veeam engineer had me create a new job and start a whole new chain of backups for the failed job. He also showed me the original chain, and all the backup files, were still accessible if need be for restores.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 344
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by hyvokar » Feb 06, 2019 9:18 am

Hi,

Did anyone got this problem resolved? Run in to same error today with 9.5 update4.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by foggy » Feb 08, 2019 6:22 pm

I've checked all the cases mentioned in this thread and all of them were closed after running active fulls. So no actual reason of the issue, plus they are from over 2 years ago and different releases. So, I recommend you to contact support for an investigation. Thanks!

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 344
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam v9.5: Error: Full storage not found

Post by hyvokar » Feb 12, 2019 1:09 pm

Did contact, but it really didnt take me anywhere.
I believe the problem was that I changed the storage type to per-vm backup chains, but cannot tell for sure since the gui didn't give me enough info about what was missing.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 24 guests