Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

VMware specific discussions

Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby jclancy » Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:56 pm

In the link below it talks about ESXI I/O Stack. I am new to veeam and VMWare and trying to learn. What is the ESXI I/O stack? I am assuming it is where the two esxi hosts are connected together some how. I have three hosts two with my vms and the other with veeam in a vm and vcentre in another vm. I want to replicate between both hosts using veeam. In the diagram are they sharing local storage? Are they connected over the lan or directly to each other through the stack? I don't see any mention of a SAN and so I am wondering if this can all be done over local storage? thanks for your time.

Image
jclancy
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Jason Clancy

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 02, 2015 4:42 pm

Hi Jason,

ESXi I/O stack is basically how the ESXi host "talks" to its connected storage, traffic does not go over your local network. Please review this sticky topic for further reading > Virtual Appliance Mode (Hot Add)

To replicate between your hosts located in the same network (LAN) you need to have 1 proxy server (installed on your backup server by default) and that's it, it works out-of-the-box.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Apr 02, 2015 4:49 pm

jclancy wrote:What is the ESXI I/O stack?

Software based I/O Virtualization provides I/O Sharing, Consolidation, Isolation, Mobility, Simplified management, Failover etc.
More info is here.
jclancy wrote:I have three hosts two with my vms and the other with veeam in a vm and vcentre in another vm. I want to replicate between both hosts using veeam. In the diagram are they sharing local storage?

You need create a replication job for that. Please review the hyperlink.
In the provided picture, storage is not shared.
jclancy wrote:I don't see any mention of a SAN and so I am wondering if this can all be done over local storage?

SAN and Virtual Appliance are different transport modes.
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4842
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby jclancy » Thu Apr 02, 2015 5:11 pm

Thanks guys, I have veeam running right now in a vm and have the proxy in the same vm as default. It works but I wanted to try this out to see if I could get a better faster back and replication. So I as long as veeam can see both local storages (which I can see in Veeam) if I put a second proxy on a vm on the host i want to replicate to and choose the transport mode as VA then t will run over my 2 hosts local storage directly giving me a better faster backup?
jclancy
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Jason Clancy

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 02, 2015 9:02 pm

If you want to get better performance, please tell us your current bottleneck stats for the replication job.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby jclancy » Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:16 am

The bottle neck is my target running at 99%. My esxi host has sata drives and 24gb of ram and 2 cpu 2.4ghz
jclancy
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Jason Clancy

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:37 am

What's the processing rate? Can you deploy a proxy server to the destination host and post job performance stats?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby jclancy » Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:12 pm

So i ran the proxy on a vm on my destination host and then started a replication job the Processing rate was 6-7 MB/s. It was the same as when the proxy was on the same server as veeam. I know veeam can run out the box with the backup server and the proxy on the same server but I want to be able to test out all the different ways of backing up for experience of using veeam. I followed your sticky link and it did shed some light on the set-up. I have read that the backup server has to be in a VM and on the host you are backing up in order to use VAM? If I was to set it up virtual appliance mode like the diagram i posted It looks like you have two esxi hosts and one veeam backup server so 3 physical machines. I place proxy servers on each esxi host (source/production server and the target/destination server) in already established VM's or build a couple of new VM's. How does the VM hosting the proxy know how to do the hot add? Is this something I have to set-up in the ISCSI? How does the two hosts know they have access to each others storage? Again is this something I have to setup? I have vcenter set up also on a another physical machine with both hosts connected up inside it.
jclancy
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Jason Clancy

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:15 pm

jclancy wrote:I place proxy servers on each esxi host (source/production server and the target/destination server) in already established VM's or build a couple of new VM's. How does the VM hosting the proxy know how to do the hot add? Is this something I have to set-up in the ISCSI? How does the two hosts know they have access to each others storage? Again is this something I have to setup?

Basically, no additional configuration is required. If you do not see the [hotadd] tag next to the proxy server name that is selected to process VM data (in the job stats window, after selecting the particular VM to the left), then please review this KB article for some hotadd limitations. Probably one of them applies to your environment.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby jclancy » Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:58 pm

Thank you Foggy. I will look for this hotadd tag. Both esxi hosts are using scsi connections one host is SAS the other is using sata HD. I will try again to set this up and see what I get.
jclancy
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Jason Clancy

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Apr 05, 2015 8:23 pm

Once you do this, please post back the updated bottleneck stats and performance rates during full and incremental job passes. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby jclancy » Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:12 pm

The more I read the more I am getting confused. My Veeam server is in a VM on one of my ESXI Hosts. I have another ESXI host with 4 VM which I want to backup. Both ESXI are using Local Storage. So can I even use Hot add or virtual appliance mode?

Stats
Source:40%
Proxy:36
Network:20%
Target:70% (Bottleneck)

Getting around 15MB\S

Gigabit network is in place. Would like to speed things up? Would increasing Memory and CPU power help?
jclancy
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Jason Clancy

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:28 pm

If you have a virtual proxy on the host where backed up VMs reside, you should be able to use hotadd (unless some of the limitations outlined in the mentioned KB apply).

I'm a bit confused by what you are actually doing - backup or replication - since you mention both in your previous posts, and to what job those bottleneck stats refer.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby jclancy » Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:21 am

I am doing both backup and replication. Sorry the stats are for a backup job I ran not replication. Does hot add work with backup jobs?
jclancy
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Jason Clancy

Re: Veeam Virtual Appliance mode

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:15 am

Yes, hotadd works with both backup and replication jobs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests