Veeam WA & IPv6

VMware specific discussions

Veeam WA & IPv6

Veeam Logoby Fraeco » Mon May 04, 2015 1:59 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to get an offsite through the Wan accelerator to work on IPv6
I've added the WA on the local server, this is no problem. When I try to add it on the remote server veeam can't seem to connect to the device.

I entered the DNS name of my V6 to-be WA Proxy (offsite.domain.com), entered credentials of the machine and when the wizard goes to check what needs to be installed I get the error "IP list empty".
I then tried entering the IP instead of the DNS, then I just get the default "The Network Name cannot be found" error.

When I ping offsite.domain.com I get reply from the target on v6 however. Also, when I open the UNC path \\offsite.domain.com\ADMIN$ it opens without any problem.

Am I doing something stupid here, or is Veeam not setup to work with IPv6 yet?
Fraeco
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:54 am

Re: Veeam WA & IPv6

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 04, 2015 8:47 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello Fraeco,
I am 99% sure that IPv6 is not supported.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam WA & IPv6

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 08, 2015 5:05 pm 3 people like this post

+1%
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam WA & IPv6

Veeam Logoby Fraeco » Sun May 10, 2015 7:21 pm

Sorry for the slowpoke reply

Thanks for getting back to me on this.

Is IPv6 support on the roadmap?
Fraeco
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:54 am

Re: Veeam WA & IPv6

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sun May 10, 2015 7:41 pm

Not in the short list, as far as I know.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam WA & IPv6

Veeam Logoby Zeon » Mon May 11, 2015 1:15 am

I know IPv6 isn't supported in v7 (which we use). In our area (APNIC area) there is virtually no further public IPv4 really available. We've switched our entire internal network to IPv6 with just our PBX and Veeam not using it currently...
Zeon
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:50 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Spence

Re: Veeam WA & IPv6

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Mon May 11, 2015 4:36 am

However the lack of "public" IPv4 is not completely related to switching an internal network to IPv6; it's fine from a consistency viewpoint and to remove any 6-to-4 routing system, but it's not mandatory ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5055
Liked: 1335 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests