Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works...

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby 0zzY » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:11 pm

Hi all, i have read in these posts veeam can't work with esxi free 5.1, and 5.0 upd1 becouse are disable some API in the these free hypervisor..but what about esxi 5.0? I have a customer with hypervisor 5.0 free and veeam works (it seems) both backup and restore procedures (can i sleep this night?) ..

Before i sold veeam to my customers, i have read the system requirements and in some docs i have seen ESXi3 ESXi4.x ESXi5 were supported..yesterday i have read this forum, and seen in another pdf that ESXi (free) is not supported..i think the first one docs should be corrected before other people make the same mistake...
0zzY
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 58
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:01 am
Full Name: 0zzy

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:52 pm

Standalone ESX(i) hosts with paid license are fully supported, so I believe system requirements document shouldn't be changed.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20094
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby 0zzY » Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:33 pm 1 person likes this post

Vitaliy S. wrote:Standalone ESX(i) hosts with paid license are fully supported, so I believe system requirements document shouldn't be changed.

with paid license is missing..i don't think it's a detail, and many other like me could misunderstand
0zzY
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 58
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:01 am
Full Name: 0zzy

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby hanscees » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:33 pm

I am about to become a paying veeam customer but I do not like this attitude from veeam at all and also I think it is not smart.
Microsoft was smart to allow schools to use a cheap license. That awy all children insist on using microsoft windows and word.

Lots of small companies and schools use free esxi. I am trying to see how veeam works on my home esxi-server.
But since veeam does not support free esxi, that first good impression is gone.
I think that's not smart. Then also not adjusting your documentation on this point tells me you are actually misleading customers.
Sorry, but you are losing my confidense here.
hanscees
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:42 am
Full Name: blublub blub

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:13 pm

hanscees wrote:But since veeam does not support free esxi, that first good impression is gone.

It's not Veeam who puts this restriction, please look at this posts to get a clear picture of this situation:
Jfmoots wrote:Veeam utilizes an API provided by VMware. If that API is open Veeam will Backup/Recover. The API is closed on Free ESXi. The API is open on any licensed version of ESXi.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20094
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby hanscees » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:22 pm

then please do not write in your log-emails:
Error: Your Veeam Backup license does not allow processing of free ESXi.
Veeam Backup & Replication 6.5.0.109
hanscees
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:42 am
Full Name: blublub blub

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:31 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, I agree that this message sounds a bit confusing, so let me verify if it is an easy task to change this message in our session log. Thanks for the feedback!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20094
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby aeccles » Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:35 pm

I know that VMWare 5.5 lifted a lot of restrictions... can Veeam now send replication jobs to a 5.5 free edition?
aeccles
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 3:00 pm

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:47 pm

Even though some of the previously existed limits went away with the release of vSphere 5.5 free, the latter still seems to have Storage APIs for Data Protection blocked, preventing us from using free hosts as source/target for replication jobs.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13865
Liked: 1037 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby aeccles » Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:01 pm

Thanks - can you confirm if I need Essentials or Essentials Plus? According to this link, Data Protection is only in Plus
aeccles
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 3:00 pm

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:09 pm

Most likely, you've confused "Storage APIs for Data Protection" with simple "Data Protection". The latter has to do with backup/DR solution provided by VMware in Essential Plus bundle. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13865
Liked: 1037 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby aeccles » Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:14 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Most likely, you've confused "Storage APIs for Data Protection" with simple "Data Protection". The latter has to do with backup/DR solution provided by VMware in Essential Plus bundle. Thanks.


You are probably correct, but I still don't know if Essentials or Essentials Plus is needed? The Veeam requirements docs just say the free edition won't work... I assume that means every other version will, but I'd rather know for sure instead of assume. :) Thanks!
aeccles
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 3:00 pm

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:21 pm 1 person likes this post

As it's stated in the corresponding sticky FAQ, vSphere Essentials is the minimum supported version. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13865
Liked: 1037 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby aeccles » Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:04 pm

thank you!
aeccles
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 3:00 pm

Re: Veeam with vSphere 5 Hypervisor (e.g. free ESXi) works..

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:50 am

You're welcome. Feel free to ask, if any additional clarification is needed. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13865
Liked: 1037 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: A.Lazutin and 1 guest