Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lowlander
Service Provider
Posts: 309
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
Contact:

Virtual Lab boot time

Post by lowlander » Jul 01, 2015 8:51 am

Hi,

is it possible to ignore the setting maximum allowed boot time in an application group ?

For test environments we don't want to wait on the IP becoming available.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18292
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab boot time

Post by foggy » Jul 01, 2015 9:43 am

You can either set the timeout to a very high value or disable ping test. However, is there much sense in doing so, since subsequent script tests will not succeed without IP address?

lowlander
Service Provider
Posts: 309
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab boot time

Post by lowlander » Jul 01, 2015 10:28 am

We use the surebackup job for starting an isolated environment. When having three virtual machines in this isolated environment, we don't want to wait due it is a serial process. Just fire up the vm's for testing purposes and leave them running :)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18292
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab boot time

Post by foggy » Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am

Then disabling ping test should do the trick for you.

lowlander
Service Provider
Posts: 309
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab boot time

Post by lowlander » Jul 01, 2015 10:44 am

Unfortunately it doesn't. Does it makes sense to put one virtual machine in a surebackup job, and do the rest with IR an remapping to the VLAB network ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18292
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab boot time

Post by foggy » Jul 01, 2015 11:46 am

Yes, you can do that. You could also link a backup job with those VMs and they will be processed simultaneously. May I ask you why disabling ping is not an option?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kapple and 32 guests