Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
cbdbwalker
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2010 6:35 pm
Full Name: Brandon Walker
Contact:

Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected

Post by cbdbwalker »

Hello,

I am getting this error message when launching any AIR wizard from any VM. When I start the application, I get a systray popup that says 'Disconnected.' When I try to submit a virtual lab request, I get a popup that says "Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected."

I have verified my settings are correct and even tested the connection successfully, don't understand what's going on. Has anyone else seen this?

I've reinstalled and verified firewalls are down on each end.

Edit: SureBackup jobs work fine with the virtual lab I created.

Alexey D.

Re: Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected

Post by Alexey D. »

Hello Brandon,

The first idea that comes to mind is to check credentials.
Credentials under which Enterprise Manager is running and credentials under which AIR wizard was installed should be from the same domain (or, in case of different domains, there should be a trust).
Could you verify this?

cbdbwalker
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2010 6:35 pm
Full Name: Brandon Walker
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected

Post by cbdbwalker »

Enterprise Manager is running under our DOMAIN\backup user account. I installed AD Air wizard as administrator. I tried uninstalling AIR and reinstalling as the backup user, and I get the same message. Any other ideas?

Alexey D.

Re: Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected

Post by Alexey D. »

The next idea is: please contact our support team, as we will need more information (such as full log files) to help you out. Thanks!

btn003
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bjørn-Tore
Contact:

Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by btn003 »

[merged]

Hi -

Trying to run a AD or Exchange restore job, but gets the "Virtual lab manager is disconnected" error on last step in the wizard.

I have setup SureBackup job with a virtual lab, and this run ok. Using Veeam 5.02

Is there any setting somewhere to "Connect" virtual lab manager?

Please advice.

Bjørn.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28147
Liked: 4953 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Gostev »

Do you have Enteprise Manager server address specified in the virtual lab manager settings?

btn003
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bjørn-Tore
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by btn003 »

Problaby not. Can you point me to where I find virtual lab manager settings, and this value?

btn003
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bjørn-Tore
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by btn003 »

Actually I have not installed Enterprise Manager. Seems I missed that point. Thouht it was optional?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28147
Liked: 4953 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Gostev »

It is optional, but not if you want to use virtual lab request system that Enterprise Manager implements for other users to be able to install AIR wizards on their desktops. If you are the only one using AIR functionality, you should invoke AIR wizards directly from the running SureBackup job's session by right-clicking the corresponding VM. This is explained in details in the sticky FAQ topic, under U-AIR Workflow section.

btn003
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bjørn-Tore
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by btn003 »

ok, thank you. This was very helpful.

Frosty
Expert
Posts: 190
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 9:00 pm
Full Name: Stephen Frost
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Frosty »

btn003 wrote:Actually I have not installed Enterprise Manager. Seems I missed that point. Thouht it was optional?
Yep, I had the same issue just last week ... I had only ever installed VBR and had ignored Enterprise Manager ... have now rectified that and the "Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected" error is gone.

damocue
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2011 9:10 am
Full Name: David Molina
Location: Valencia, Spain
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by damocue »

Hello,
I would use the wizards for AD, Exchange and SQL Server, for me is disconnected because the server refuse the connection. I have installed Enterprise Manager on the same server as Veeam Backup and on another, and both refuse the connection via Virtual Lab Manager. I have disabled Windows Firewall, antivirus... Also I have made a clean installation on a new VM.

Any idea?

And refered to Surebackup, what would be the best practices for a Surebackup environment?

Regards,

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28147
Liked: 4953 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Gostev »

Hi, never seen it not working when everything is installed on the same VM (all my labs are like that). May be you are specifying wrong port to connect to. Please contact our support for troubleshooting and assistance with this. Thanks!

damocue
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2011 9:10 am
Full Name: David Molina
Location: Valencia, Spain
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by damocue »

My previous labs were like yours, but this... The Enterprise Manager on Veeam server crashes at web interface with this ASP error
So I installed another Enterprise Manager on a new server, whose web interface doesn't crash ( :) ), but Virtual Lab Manager doesn't connect too...

Note: my Veeam server is a VM with Windows 2008 R2 and Veeam B&R, Veeam Monitor and Veeam Reporter. And the new server is also a VM with Windows 2008 R2 as OS.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20018
Liked: 1868 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by foggy »

David, as Anton has already stated, you need to contact the support team to verify your installation. Thanks.

JanssensJ
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 7:34 am
Full Name: Jeroen Janssens
Contact:

Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected

Post by JanssensJ »

[merged]

When I try to perform an exchange AIR, I get the following error: Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected.

When I go to the settings of the virual lab manager (right click on the icon in the taskbar) and I click test connection, I get the following error: Return argument has an invalid type. The server field has 127.0.0.1 and the Port field has 9394 as values.

If found the following via google: http://www.veeam.com/KB1185 but those values are all correct.

Any help would be appreciated ...

JanssensJ
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 7:34 am
Full Name: Jeroen Janssens
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Manager is disconnected

Post by JanssensJ »

Was there any solution to this problem as I am now having the same issue?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24831
Liked: 2083 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

If the suggestions above do not help, please contact our support team for assistance directly.

dsimpkins
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 3:12 am
Full Name: Daniel
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by dsimpkins »

hello,
I am having the same problem and have gone through the same process as the OP. Seems as though your issues was from a week or so ago, did you get a resolution because I am quite urgently needing this fixed in my environment and i can't find a phone number for support in Australia

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24831
Liked: 2083 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

dsimpkins wrote:... and i can't find a phone number for support in Australia
Here you go: +61 (26) 108 4305

dsimpkins
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 3:12 am
Full Name: Daniel
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by dsimpkins »

Vitaliy S. wrote: Here you go: +61 (26) 108 4305
Didn't work.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24831
Liked: 2083 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

I will verify this number with our support management team, meanwhile you may want to use our support customer portal to contact our team and request a call-back if needed.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24831
Liked: 2083 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Virtual lab manager is disconnected ?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

I have just received the confirmation that this number does work, feel free to reach our support team again.

jpeake
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2012 7:57 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] AIR not working in 6.5-Enterprise Manager on diff s

Post by jpeake »

I have opened a support ticket, just wondering if anyone else has seen this. I cannot launch any AIR jobs, get the error "Virtual Lab Manager disconnected"

This process seems to depend on Enterprise Manager, which I have running on a separate server. I have specified this server in the "settings" from the vLab Manager tray icon app (and verified it in the registry)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests