Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
hzhang@nowcom.com
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2013 7:02 pm
Full Name: Howard Zhang
Contact:

Virtual LAB Multiple Masquerade networks

Post by hzhang@nowcom.com » Mar 22, 2013 12:13 am

hi, I restored 2 VMs in Virtual LAB(one domain controller, one SQL server, will add one exchange server later), they are in different vlans in Production, so I created multiple masquerade network for them. Surebackup job is successful. I can restore AD component back to Production AD. I can restore SQL tables back to Prod SQL server if using sa account. The problem is I can't using domain account for SQL recovery. It seems SQL server can't communicate with domain controller in the LAB. How can I solve this problem? Exchange server will also need to communicate with domain controller and they are also in different vlan.

Thanks

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5383
Liked: 2217 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Virtual LAB Multiple Masquerade networks

Post by tsightler » Mar 22, 2013 12:25 am

There is an option in the network setup to enable routing between the networks in thw isolated environment. Did you enable this option. I apologize that I don't currently remember the exact screen and I'm not currently in a place to be able to access my lab, but it's in there.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Virtual LAB Multiple Masquerade networks

Post by veremin » Mar 22, 2013 8:19 am

Go to the "Networking" window in the Virtual Lab settings -> Choose "Advanced configuration" -> Network Settings -> "Route network traffic between vNICs".

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

hzhang@nowcom.com
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2013 7:02 pm
Full Name: Howard Zhang
Contact:

Re: Virtual LAB Multiple Masquerade networks

Post by hzhang@nowcom.com » Mar 22, 2013 3:14 pm

I did check that one and I also tried giving two masquerade network same vlan ID "0" but no luck.

hzhang@nowcom.com
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2013 7:02 pm
Full Name: Howard Zhang
Contact:

Re: Virtual LAB Multiple Masquerade networks

Post by hzhang@nowcom.com » Mar 22, 2013 3:19 pm

vNIC 1: Veeam LAB VLAN 70; IP: 10.70.1.11/24; Masq IP: 10.255.1.x
vNIC 2: Veeam LAB VLAN 502; IP: 10.111.2.54/24; Masq IP: 10.255.2.x

hzhang@nowcom.com
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2013 7:02 pm
Full Name: Howard Zhang
Contact:

Re: Virtual LAB Multiple Masquerade networks

Post by hzhang@nowcom.com » Mar 22, 2013 11:49 pm

The error message: "Failed to connect to server 10.255.2.37(Masq IP for SQL server), Cannot generate SSPI contect." If I chose SQL authentication instead of Windows authentication, it will work fine. Any idea?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24473
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Virtual LAB Multiple Masquerade networks

Post by Gostev » Mar 23, 2013 2:21 pm

Since SQL authentication demonstrates that there is no problems with network connectivity, the issue is not with the Veeam virtual lab... it might be best for you to post an inquiry on SQL admin forums, unless some knowledgeable SQL admin will come by and notice this topic.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests