Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Koobal
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 8:34 am
Full Name: Colin Szajkowski
Contact:

Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by Koobal » Feb 06, 2015 1:41 pm

Hi, I'm currently configuring a virtual lab in single host advanced options.
I try to make it work with 3 VM in 3 different VLAN.
VM1 in VLAN 6
NETWORK : 10.27.6.0/24
GW: 10.27.6.250

VM2 in VLAN 130
Network : 10.27.130.0/24
GW: 10.27.130.250

VM3 in VLAN 184
NEtwork : 10.27.184.0/23
GW : 10.27.185.250

The 3 isolated network are added. Network settings are the following :
-VNNIC1 :
VLAN 130
Masquerade IP : 10.127.130.x
Appliance IP : 10.27.130.250

-VNNIC2 :
VLAN 184
Masqueade IP : 10.127.184.x
Appliance IP : 10.27.185.250

-VNNIC3 :
VLAN 6
Masquerade IP : 10.127.6.x
Appliance IP : 10.27.6.250

For VM1 and 2 all is OK. But for VM3 test ping is failed. I tried a surebackup job with this only VM3, it still fail.
During the Surebackup job, I do a tracert to the VM3 masquerade IP. Route ongoing is ok, return is nok i open a console on the VM, testing a ping to the GW 10.27.185.250 (so the proxy appliance in virtual LAB), ping is nok.

From VBR : ping to prod VM is ok, ping to Vlab VM nok (same conf, so not a firewall issue :p)

If someone have an idea, I m'turning around.

Thanks for your help,
Regrads

Koobal
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 8:34 am
Full Name: Colin Szajkowski
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by Koobal » Feb 09, 2015 7:20 am

Hi,
it seems like Virtual Labs don't like 255.255.254.0 netmask.
With all other VLAN with a 24 netmask it' ok.
Did someone already have tis issue ?

Thanks for your help.
Regards

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16134
Liked: 1315 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by v.eremin » Feb 09, 2015 11:18 am

Speaking about /23 mask, there used to be problems (that have been fixed in version 7) with vLab proposing only B-class network. Anyway, those issues seem to be unrelated to your particular situation.

It might be worth opening a ticket with our support team and letting them assist you with configuration process.

Thanks.

Koobal
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 8:34 am
Full Name: Colin Szajkowski
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by Koobal » Feb 09, 2015 12:57 pm

Hi,
Thanks for your reply.
I already create a case for this problem, but support didn't find yet what's going on.
I posted here, cause i'd like to have as many help as I can, as it's on one of my customer environment.
Thanks for your help.
Regards

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16134
Liked: 1315 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by v.eremin » Feb 09, 2015 1:30 pm

Can you post your ticket number here, so that we can follow the case? Thanks.

Koobal
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 8:34 am
Full Name: Colin Szajkowski
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by Koobal » Feb 09, 2015 1:37 pm

Sure, it's the case : [ID# 00745444]

We tested it on VM with web server in it.
What is surprising , it's that Ping test fail, but role test is ok (telnet on 80)...
Before you ask, there is no FW on the VM :) For being more specific there is one, but only for out of domain traffic.
And the prod VM is pingable... That is very strange.


thanks

Koobal
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 8:34 am
Full Name: Colin Szajkowski
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by Koobal » Feb 09, 2015 2:52 pm

Ok, so it seems that this is those firewall rules that blocking ping test.

On our environment, FW windows is disbale for domain network, but enable for Public and Private network.
When the surebackup job is mounting the virtual lab, the network is considered as a Public network instead of domain network, that's why firewall is rejecting the ping in virtuallab environment.
We authorized the ping from Public and private network and it's ok.

Hope this will help someome else with same problem,
Thanks for your help.

Regards

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Network issue

Post by foggy » Feb 09, 2015 3:02 pm

Correct, Windows Firewall recognizes the virtual lab network as a new one and applies "public" firewall profile to it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests