Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
cvacanti
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 7:36 pm
Full Name: Chris Vacanti
Contact:

Virtual Lab - Ping Fails

Post by cvacanti » Dec 15, 2014 7:24 pm

Support case: 00701892

I set the vNIC for the virtual lab to the gateway IP of our production servers. I've also set the subnet mask as the same as our production network. I've verified that the route shows up in my route print on the veeam server when I run a surebackup. However the pings continue to fail. The virtual lab and the veeam server are on the same host and that the networking vswitch is there and the vms are attached to it.

What else can I try?

Chris

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18024
Liked: 1530 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab - Ping Fails

Post by foggy » Dec 16, 2014 11:59 am

Is there any firewall enabled inside the guest (for example, Windows firewall could block pings for public networks)?

cvacanti
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 7:36 pm
Full Name: Chris Vacanti
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab - Ping Fails

Post by cvacanti » Dec 16, 2014 9:06 pm

There's a KB from Veeam that discusses that. You run a command on the production VM, back it up, then run the surebackup and the firewall will not be on. I've done that already.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22747
Liked: 1518 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab - Ping Fails

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 17, 2014 12:22 pm

What about other checks? Do they also fail?

cvacanti
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 7:36 pm
Full Name: Chris Vacanti
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab - Ping Fails

Post by cvacanti » Dec 17, 2014 2:48 pm

Heartbeat passes. Ping fails. Application check fails.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22747
Liked: 1518 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab - Ping Fails

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 17, 2014 4:29 pm

Heartbeat information is received via VMware Tools, as to other checks then they are using network connection. Let's see what your support engineers finds out after reviewing your logs and configuration.

cvacanti
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 7:36 pm
Full Name: Chris Vacanti
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab - Ping Fails

Post by cvacanti » Feb 10, 2015 8:53 pm 1 person likes this post

Figured this out - it wasn't anything to do with the virtual lab exactly.
See if this solves your issue:

Setup your surebackup with zero checks, no heartbeat/pings/applications.
Ensure that "Leave power on" is enabled on the virtual lab.
Add 1 vm to the application group.
Start the surebackup.

Once the VM in the lab is powered on open the VM console, login with local creds, and verify if the firewall is on in the vm set to public. If so turn it off...and test your pings. They should work. Look here at setting this rule on the prod vm so that when it is in the lab pings work: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947709

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests