Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lukeup
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 06, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Luke
Contact:

Virtual Lab Using Backup Files

Post by lukeup » Jul 12, 2013 10:55 am

Hello,

Can you take a copy of the backup files to use for Virtual Lab so the backup can still run at the same time?

Thanks

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17267
Liked: 1513 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Using Backup Files

Post by veremin » Jul 12, 2013 11:30 am

Since Surebackup deals with existing backup jobs, it wouldn’t possible to just copy corresponding backup files and point them to Surebackup job.

Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17267
Liked: 1513 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab Using Backup Files

Post by veremin » Jul 12, 2013 11:41 am

However, the potential way to achieve what you’re after is to:

1) Copy backup data to different folder in repository.
2) Rescan repository.
3) Copya backup job, using either PS or Enterprise Manager.
4) Map the new job to the previously created backup folder.
5) Use this job as a linked one in Surebackup.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests