Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Novell2
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 05, 2010 4:12 pm
Full Name: Zeller Werner
Contact:

VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by Novell2 » Feb 19, 2011 7:14 pm

Hi
I like to get ride from snapshots on a VM. I can use the Virtualcenter Clone for that. Is the Veeam VM Copy the same or do the Snapshots after copying still exists?
(I have at the moment no time and space for this tests....)


Thanks for your help!
Novell2

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3668 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by Gostev » Feb 19, 2011 8:05 pm

Hi, VM Copy will copy the latest (actual) state of VM disks only, leaving all snapshots behind. Thanks!

Novell2
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 05, 2010 4:12 pm
Full Name: Zeller Werner
Contact:

Re: VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by Novell2 » Feb 20, 2011 10:45 am

Hi Gostev
Thanks! Only one question more. With VM Copy can I set (with 2 Disks) one for Thick and the second disk tho Thin? It's that possible?
Or does the copy are the same as its original?
Thanks a lot!!!!!!

And have a nice errorfree sunday!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3668 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by Gostev » Feb 20, 2011 7:30 pm

Hi, VM Copy always copies all disks as thick. Replication job can convert disks from any format to any format on the fly, however it does that for all VM disks at once. Thanks!

bhwong
Enthusiast
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 24, 2012 9:57 am
Full Name: Boon Hong Wong
Contact:

[MERGED] vCenter Cloning vs Veeam VM copy?

Post by bhwong » Jun 18, 2013 7:07 am

What's the difference between vCenter Cloning vs Veeam VM copy?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18439
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by foggy » Jun 18, 2013 9:36 am 1 person likes this post

Boon, you've been merged into existing discussion, please look above for the answer. If you need further clarification, feel free to ask here. Thanks!

bhwong
Enthusiast
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 24, 2012 9:57 am
Full Name: Boon Hong Wong
Contact:

Re: VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by bhwong » Jun 24, 2013 3:22 am

Thanks for pointing me to the answers! :)

Since vCenter cloning include snapshots and support thin provisioning to make cloning job much faster, is there any use case to use veeam vm copy over vCenter cloning? Also, since veeam vm copy take the latest image without any snapshot, this will mean that it will have to merge existing snapshots into the copied VM which will extend the time required to complete the copy job right?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5787
Liked: 1655 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by dellock6 » Jun 24, 2013 8:11 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,
no it does not need to merge snapshots, it simply copy the latest status of the VM reading it from the hypervisor.
About use cases, there are limits where the vCenter copy does not works, for example if you have two different vCenters and you need to copy a VM from one to the other. On Veeam you simply register both vCenter and here you go.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

bhwong
Enthusiast
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 24, 2012 9:57 am
Full Name: Boon Hong Wong
Contact:

Re: VM Copy versus Clone in VC

Post by bhwong » Jun 24, 2013 9:15 am

I see. Thanks!

btw, I usually add the ESXi from another vCenter temporary into the vCenter I want if I need to copy a VM from that ESXi. Good to know that VM Copy make this simplier.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 16 guests