Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jzoudavy
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 09, 2014 5:57 pm
Full Name: davy
Contact:

vm replication error about license

Post by jzoudavy » Sep 09, 2014 10:46 pm

hi experts

I got an error when executing the replication job: "Current License or ESXi version prohibits execution of the request". I have ESX 5.5 with Enterprise Plus license. I got the free trial license for veeam Backup and Replication. So I am not sure why replication would fail.

If I try a backup job, the result is same. But I can use the VeeamZip just fine.

anyone know what could be the problem? Do I need to apply a patch on ESX?

thanks
davy

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16778
Liked: 1405 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vm replication error about license

Post by veremin » Sep 10, 2014 8:46 am 1 person likes this post

Are both hosts covered by the paid vSphere license? I mean the one you're replicating from and the one you're replicating to. Thanks.

jzoudavy
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 09, 2014 5:57 pm
Full Name: davy
Contact:

Re: vm replication error about license

Post by jzoudavy » Sep 10, 2014 12:23 pm

yeap, all of them have the enterprise plus license.

EDIT: but maybe i put the wrong key... let me double check

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22862
Liked: 1538 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vm replication error about license

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 10, 2014 3:36 pm

You can also verify that by adding these hosts to the vCenter Server. Free ESXi hosts would not allow you to do that.

jzoudavy
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 09, 2014 5:57 pm
Full Name: davy
Contact:

Re: vm replication error about license

Post by jzoudavy » Sep 10, 2014 6:57 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi guys

thanks so much for your help. I double checked on the license and v.Eremin was correct, the host I am copying from does not have Enterprise Plus license, only a free license. Once I applied our EntPlus license the replication when ok.

davy

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16778
Liked: 1405 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vm replication error about license

Post by veremin » Sep 11, 2014 8:27 am

That's what the error provided typically suggests - one of the hosts included in replication job doesn't have an appropriate license. Anyway, thanks for coming back and updating the topic.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests