Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
cdsouza
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 19, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Clement DSouza
Contact:

VM replication that have dynamic disk

Post by cdsouza » Feb 19, 2015 2:54 am

I have two VMs running in VMware 5.1/vCenter5.1
First VM:
OS: Windows 2008r2
Application: Exchange 2010
C: drive is Basic (60GB) (OS and Exchange binary files)
D: drive is dynamic (650 GB) (Exchange database) (single VMDK file)

Second VM:
OS: Windows 2008r2
Application: Domain Controller and File print server
C: drive is Basic (100GB) (OS and Active directory DB)
D: 1.4TB Spanned across two Dynamic Disk in Windows (Two VMDK file 650GB and 750GB)

I have installed VEEAM 8 B&R and need to replicate the two VMs to a new vCenter 5.5 on the same LAN.
Question: Are there any issues with replicating virtual machines with Dynamic Disk or virtual machines that have spanned volume across dynamic disk?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VM replication that have dynamic disk

Post by foggy » Feb 19, 2015 10:17 am

Clement, there should not be any issues with replicating these VMs with v8. Thanks.

cdsouza
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 19, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Clement DSouza
Contact:

Re: VM replication that have dynamic disk

Post by cdsouza » Feb 20, 2015 12:08 am

Alexander, Thank you for your reply.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], ccouchman, tblime and 23 guests