Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

VMs info in Nimble Snapshot is Not displayed

Post by Tos » Jul 24, 2018 8:55 am

Hi

Our customer have trouble.
They want to do restore from Nimble Storage Snapshot.
So they run Snapshot-Only Jobs and it's successful.
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

The created storage snapshot is displayed from Veeam console and Nimble console.
But, when clicking Storage Snapshot from Veeam Console, the VM info is not displayed. (VMs Count is "0" )

Manually created storage snapshot is also displayed from Veeam console and Nimble console.
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

But VMs count is also displayed as "0" from Veeam console.

Storege Rescan is also successful, but VMs count is still "0". They can't restore from Storage Snapshot.

Do you know the cause and handling ?
They use the latest Veeam (update3a) and Nimble OS (ver5.x). Is it related ?

Regards
Toshi

csydas
Expert
Posts: 168
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: VMs info in Nimble Snapshot is Not displayed

Post by csydas » Jul 24, 2018 5:34 pm

Hey Toshihiro,

I had something similar with our Netapp setups, and we figured out in the end it was a permissions issue. The Account used to access our Netapp NFS exports was setup with granular permissions. After re-adding the account to have full permission for all exports, we were able to successfully restore from our shares.

Check the account used to add your Nimble to Veeam for permissions. Try giving it everything temporarily and see if the situation is resolve, then you can work with Nimble to narrow down the issue.

Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

Re: VMs info in Nimble Snapshot is Not displayed

Post by Tos » Jul 25, 2018 9:14 am

Hi
Thanks for your advice.
Although we confirmed, the user who used to register in nimble uses the admin user ("admin" user).
It seems that iSCSI connection of Veeam server and Nimble volume can also be configured.
Is there any other possible cause for it ?

Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

Re: VMs info in Nimble Snapshot is Not displayed

Post by Tos » Jul 27, 2018 5:09 am

Hi
Finally, I understood the cause of this event.
This issue occurs when a storage snapshot is created on a datastore larger than 16TB with VMFS5 later.
So we adjust the NImble volume so that it is divided and used. It's resolved.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17726
Liked: 1483 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VMs info in Nimble Snapshot is Not displayed

Post by foggy » Jul 27, 2018 10:25 am

Hi Toshihiro, could you please confirm you're on Veeam B&R 9.5 Update 3a, not just Update 3? We had this issue in U3, but it was addressed in U3a and if it still occurs on this version, we would like to investigate. Thanks!

Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

Re: VMs info in Nimble Snapshot is Not displayed

Post by Tos » Aug 02, 2018 7:14 am

Hi foggy
This issue still occur on Veeam B&R 9.5 Update 3a.
We checked with the support team and it seems to fix with the next update.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17726
Liked: 1483 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VMs info in Nimble Snapshot is Not displayed

Post by foggy » Aug 03, 2018 10:28 am

Could you please share your case ID? Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fedor, Google [Bot], ppcat, tohhmas and 28 guests