Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
aca
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 2:48 pm
Full Name: lxegs
Contact:

Vmware tools needed

Post by aca »

Hi

My predecessor didn't install vmware tools on several VM (including DC running under 2008R2). Vsphere is running 4.0 version (not 4.1 !)

- Can i use B&R toi back-up those vms even if vmware tools aren't installed ?
- I have a VM (with vm tools) with exchange 2010 SP 1 (under 2008R2) , is it safe to backup with B&R since B&R uses snapshots mechanisms to backup ?

Thanks for your help

clement

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19434
Liked: 1764 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Vmware tools needed

Post by foggy »

Clement, VMware Tools are required for backup with application-aware image processing enabled (which is required to safely backup Exchange Server). Please read about application-aware image processing in our sticky FAQ. Thanks.

aca
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 2:48 pm
Full Name: lxegs
Contact:

Re: Vmware tools needed

Post by aca »

ok that's i was thinking

is it safe to backup Exchange 2010 with B&R ? is it better to use VSS or vmware quiescing mode ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Vmware tools needed

Post by Vitaliy S. »

It's always better to use "application aware image processing" that comes with Veeam B&R to backup highly transactional VMs such as Exchange, SQL Server etc.

mesmeridze
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 1:04 pm
Full Name: Aleksandr
Contact:

Does VMware tools required?

Post by mesmeridze »

[merged]

Do i need to have installed and running Vmware tools in each VM for backup, if i will use Veeam application aware quiescence?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 12 guests