Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
cerberus
Enthusiast
Posts: 60
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: MD
Contact:

VMware vSphere 6.7u1 with ESXi 6.0 hosts, backing up with VBR 9.5u3?

Post by cerberus » Jan 11, 2019 11:03 pm

Hi folks,

I understand that full support for vSphere 6.7 Update 1 will come with the release of Veeam B&R 9.5 Update 4 that is around the corner.

VMware supports running older versions of ESXi that are managed by a higher version of vCenter (esxi hosts running 6.0 and vCenter being 6.7u1).

From Veeam's perspective, does this mater? Are we going to be in a supported state if we run this configuration?

I have a 3-node ESXi 6.0 cluster managed by vCenter 6.0; need to upgrade to the appliance version of vCenter and was looking to go to 6.7u1 but it will be a few weeks until my ESXi hypervisors are upgraded to the same code level so for some time they will be running 6.0; will that cause issues for Veeam B&R?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24812
Liked: 3572 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VMware vSphere 6.7u1 with ESXi 6.0 hosts, backing up with VBR 9.5u3?

Post by Gostev » Jan 12, 2019 1:24 pm

Hi, that combination should be fine - and is certainly supported. Thanks!

Ibeme
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 15, 2015 11:23 am
Full Name: Bjoern Ebner
Contact:

Re: VMware vSphere 6.7u1 with ESXi 6.0 hosts, backing up with VBR 9.5u3?

Post by Ibeme » Jan 12, 2019 8:55 pm

I'm not sure if that's working fine.
Shortly after the 6.7 U1 Release we updated only the vCenter of a customer npt knowing that 6.7 U1 was out.

After that backups were no longer possible without the Registry Workaround.

Only vCenter was updated in this case and not the hosts.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3833
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VMware vSphere 6.7u1 with ESXi 6.0 hosts, backing up with VBR 9.5u3?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jan 13, 2019 11:09 am

Correct, for Update3a you need the workaround as described.

For Update4 it just work. You can open support case to get the fully supported RTM version.

The question above was if we support/work from VMware supported combination of different vcenter and ESXi version and it will work as Anton said.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests