Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

vmx already exists

Post by arsprod » Jul 19, 2011 5:08 pm

I migrated a couple machines to different esxi host and subsequently changed the veeam backups for those machines. Now I get "Validating task
File '[san2a] VeeamBackup/infocenter01(vm-2682)/infocenter01.vmx' already exists." for both. Is there a way to clear this without deleting the original replicas?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vmx already exists

Post by Gostev » Jul 19, 2011 5:16 pm

No, this is not possible with v5 unfortunately.

arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

Re: vmx already exists

Post by arsprod » Jul 19, 2011 5:17 pm

so I need to delete the replicas? Is this a future mod or fix?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vmx already exists

Post by Gostev » Jul 19, 2011 5:23 pm

Yes, you need to delete. Yes, v6 allows to reuse the files.

arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

Re: vmx already exists

Post by arsprod » Jul 19, 2011 5:51 pm

when is 6 release?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vmx already exists

Post by Gostev » Jul 19, 2011 6:17 pm

in Q4

arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

Re: vmx already exists

Post by arsprod » Jul 19, 2011 6:32 pm

thanks

cby
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Feb 24, 2009 5:02 pm
Contact:

Replication -- '.vmx' already exists

Post by cby » Jan 29, 2012 1:24 pm

[merged]

Hi

Using Veeam B&R 5.

I have run a replica seed to USB HDD and loaded the VMs on the remote ESX. I had to make a couple of changes to the ESX host directory name to match the advice in the generated readme.txt that accompanied the original seed.

I can connect to the new ESX host and can see the storage and VMs. However when I run my replication job to inject deltas into VMs I get the error...

"...vm_name.vmx already exists..."

and the replica aborts. Well, of course it exists.

I don't want to generate 500GB of VMs again, especially over a 10Mbs WAN! My understanding was that once I loaded the USB seed and made the appropriate changes on the remote host the delta injections would automatically run.

Have I missed something? Unregister on the hosts?

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests