Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
wa15
Expert
Posts: 206
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by wa15 » Feb 25, 2014 10:31 pm

Hello all,

I just did a test failover on 2008 R2 VM with VMXNET 3 card, and I am seeing that the VMXNET3 didn't get re-ip'ed as it was supposed to. I saw that this KB is for Veeam v6, but any idea if the re-ip issue was fixed for v7 of Veeam? We are also testing SRM with this exact same VM and didn't have an issue.

http://www.veeam.com/kb1601

Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by foggy » Feb 26, 2014 9:21 am

Farshid, as far as I know the situation has not changed since v6, the issue still persists and the described solution applies (actually, this is not Veeam but Microsoft/VMware issue, as it is mentioned in the KB).

davidb1234
Expert
Posts: 151
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 8:47 pm
Full Name: David Borden
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by davidb1234 » Feb 26, 2014 7:18 pm

wa15 wrote:Hello all,

I just did a test failover on 2008 R2 VM with VMXNET 3 card, and I am seeing that the VMXNET3 didn't get re-ip'ed as it was supposed to. I saw that this KB is for Veeam v6, but any idea if the re-ip issue was fixed for v7 of Veeam? We are also testing SRM with this exact same VM and didn't have an issue.

http://www.veeam.com/kb1601

Thanks!
Download microsoft hotfix KB2550978 This will resolve this issue. It is not a veeam problem.

wa15
Expert
Posts: 206
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by wa15 » Mar 05, 2014 6:51 pm

Thanks all. I'll give it shot. It being a MS/Vmware issue, I am not sure how VMWare SRM manages to pull this off without needing a patch. Probably copies the same MAC address or something. Thank you.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by foggy » Mar 06, 2014 4:44 pm

Please kindly keep us updated on how it is going.

wa15
Expert
Posts: 206
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by wa15 » Mar 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Did another test fail over, and what's happening is that after failover, DHCP is enabled on the DR copy of the VM. Though in the Veeam logs, the "re-apply IP rules" completes successfully, I think the DHCP is overriding it. Not sure why DHCP is getting enabled upon failover and when the original VM has a static IP address. VMWare tools are updates on the VM if that matters. Will some more testing and report back!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 11, 2014 11:05 pm

Did you change the adapter type when you were running these tests?

wa15
Expert
Posts: 206
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by wa15 » Mar 12, 2014 6:28 pm

Adapter type remained VMXNET 3 and I should have clarified, I didn't apply the MS hotfix yet as I was hoping it would work without needing the hotfix.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VMXNET3 RE-IP Issues - Veeam Failover

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 12, 2014 8:59 pm

Unfortunately, changing the adapter type or applying the hotfix is a must to address this issue.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests