vSphere 6.0 U1

VMware specific discussions

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby dan11 » Wed Sep 30, 2015 12:06 pm

After updating to esxi 6.0u1 and implementing the hotfix for SSLv3 problem, erverything works fine.

Just one problem with Surebackup: The VMs don't identify the network connection as "Domain Network". Surebackup completes sucessfull but exchange services for example are unable to start (because of identifying the connection as public network). This happens with the DC too.

Does anyone facing the same problems after updating vmware to 6.0u1?
dan11
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:10 am

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby lightsout » Wed Sep 30, 2015 12:10 pm

I've not had that problem after applying the patch.

The only issue I see is, depending on how you configured your SureBackup network, can you confirm that Veeam's virtual appliance is on the same ESXi host where the SureBackup network is defined? e.g. if SureBackup uses a standard switch then it is typically locked to one host.
lightsout
Expert
 
Posts: 183
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 30, 2015 12:12 pm

I believe this is not specific to this update. Windows Firewall recognizes the virtual lab network as a new one and applies "public" firewall profile to it.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14712
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby dan11 » Wed Sep 30, 2015 3:08 pm

Yes, all VMs in the Virtual Lab are on the same host. The Virtual Lab Network is connected, ping is running...
this never happened since I'm using Surebackup for 2 years...
dan11
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:10 am

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 30, 2015 3:40 pm

Please try this workaround.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14712
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby dan11 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:09 am

Thanks foggy, it works now. I didn't run in to this problem till now because I never changed the Virtual lab proxy after updating Veeam… I did recreate the Virtual Lab after the vmware migration...
dan11
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:10 am

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:03 pm

That explains. Btw, the fix for this issue will be included in the upcoming Update 3.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14712
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:06 pm

Hi everyone! v8 Update 3 that (particularly) fixes the issue that started this topic went gold yesterday. If you'd like to participate in the pilot, please contact our support for the download link. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:18 pm

are there reasons why is the link not public yet ? and need to access it just through the support team ?
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:32 am

Because it is not generally available yet. We always start from a week or two of pilot deployments.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby simwood » Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:46 pm

Thanks for this! Solved my problem after hours of chasing around VSAN issues that weren't there.
simwood
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:30 pm
Full Name: Woody

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:38 pm

Thank you
already contacted the support team.
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby lightsout » Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:13 pm 2 people like this post

There is now a patch for 6.0 U1 which fixes the NETDEV WATCHDOG issue too.

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=2132153
lightsout
Expert
 
Posts: 183
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby chris.childerhose » Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:17 pm

Sweet I was waiting for this before upgrading my hosts from 5.5. Now I can move forward!! :D
Chris Childerhose, VCAP-DCA, VMCE9, VCP, MCITP
chris.childerhose
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 71
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Full Name: Chris Childerhose

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:54 pm

B&R 8.0 Update 3 bringing full support for vSphere 6.0 Update 1 (without having to enable SSL on hosts) is now generally available > KB2068
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DGrinev, rweis and 32 guests