Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
stuartmacgreen
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 20 times
Joined: May 01, 2012 11:56 am
Full Name: Stuart Green
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by stuartmacgreen » May 01, 2013 7:35 am 1 person likes this post

Support fixed this. Resolution was to update some uuid's in the VeeamBackup database.
Thanks.
Backup Infrastructure: Veeam B&R 9.5 U4 • vSphere 6.5 u2 • HPE MSA 2040 [FC] (Backup Target) • HPE MSL6480 LTO-6 (Tape Storage)
(Veeam Agent for Windows protecting Veeam Proxy / Tape / Repository servers)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by foggy » May 01, 2013 9:44 am

Stuart, thanks for taking the time to update the thread!

noelesp
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 28, 2013 12:28 am
Full Name: Noel E
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by noelesp » May 28, 2013 12:33 am

Ran into same issue after upgrading from 4.1 to 5.1

I revoked the license and re-ran the jobs successfully.

Thanks,

Noel

martynuk
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Aug 16, 2013 1:34 pm
Full Name: Martin Etheridge
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by martynuk » Oct 18, 2013 8:04 am

Had the same issue with Veeam 7 after replacing a host with new hardware but same IP, etc. Revoking the licence for the old host and then re-running the backup jobs fixed it for us too. Many thanks to all who contributed to the solution on this thread.

aeccles
Enthusiast
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by aeccles » Oct 28, 2013 8:54 pm

Just ran into the same issue after updating a few esxi hosts. I'm surprised this hasn't been fixed since it's been happening for almost 3 years now.
It may not seem like a big deal because the resolution is simple. Missing a backup window can cause a significant amount of work.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22971
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 28, 2013 9:37 pm

I might be wrong, but automatically re-assigning host license can be very dangerous. For example, imagine that you add/remove or just have a standby host in your VI, and it will not be a desired behavior to revoke the license key from an existing production host and assign it to that new, stand-by one, right?

As you know all hosts are tracked by their UUID and when it changes, host is treated as a new one. I don't think you would be happy to see failed jobs/missed backup windows because of the revoked license key.

Anyway, I understand you concern and also do not get why host ID gets changed during the update procedures...

Hope this makes sense.

mwant
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 10:33 am
Full Name: m want
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by mwant » Feb 17, 2014 4:52 pm

I am getting this error when I try to restore a VM hard disk. I am able to restore files OK.

I have tried the fix but the error stills persists (I have restarted services after the fix).

I have also tried deleting jobs, recreating and rerunning but the error is still occurring on the new backups.

Any ideas please?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22971
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 17, 2014 9:00 pm

If the solution above didn't help, then I guess you need to contact our technical team to review the records in the configuration database.

keith.duvall
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 21, 2014 11:32 pm
Full Name: Keith Duvall
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by keith.duvall » Feb 21, 2014 11:41 pm 1 person likes this post

We performed VUM updates to bump our hosts up to ESXi 5.5. This affected only one of our hosts. The license revoke fix above worked perfectly. No need to create a blank backup, just revoke the license of the affected host, then kick off the job. Thanks everyone.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16879
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by veremin » Feb 23, 2014 8:19 pm

Hi, Keith, thanks for coming and confirming the reliability of "revoking" approach.

EddyChong
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am
Full Name: Eddy Chong
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by EddyChong » Apr 21, 2014 9:17 am

Just a quick sharing. Upgraded my customer's host from ESX 4.1 U3 to ESXi5.5 U1 last week, same uuid error was reported and revoking the license works perfectly.

Process to find out the solutions:
1) Rescan the vCenter from Backup Infrastructure. (Does not work)
2) Remove VM from job and re-add again. (Does not work)
3) Revoke license by following this thread, works like a charm. (I did rescan also just in case)

Craigb
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 14, 2012 2:28 am
Full Name: Craig Braithwaite
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by Craigb » Jul 17, 2014 8:25 am 1 person likes this post

This is still true for 5.0 to 5.5.1 ESXi Upgrades. Once you find this thread you will be fine, the solution still works.
My notes..

20140716th
Due to Upgrade of ESXi hosts from 5.0 to 5.5.1, Veeam lost its relationships to hosts.

Task failed Error: Host with uuid '34333336-3430-5541-4431-32393033544b' was not found
(additional complaints about licencing seem spurious so may go away when the hosts issue is corrected).

So ..

Tried re-adding the guest vm in a job.. fails
Tried rescanning the backup infrastructure .. the rescan worked but the backups fail with same errors.
which seems to be the first two things 'everybody else' tried.
http://forums.veeam.com/vmware-vsphere- ... 45-15.html
The suggestion is to revoke the licencing of the hosts, (top-left dropdown, help, licencing, button:'licenced hosts', then rescan, and re-try a failed job.
* Manual retry of failed job, succeeds.
* Automatic retry (lucky coincidence with timing), succeeds.
* Standard run of next job with start time after time licences were revoked, succeeds.

Watching the licencing, each host is re-licenced as it is referenced in a backup job (depending on where VMs are currently residing)

Veeam is the best recovery solution I've ever had, I admit to skipping a heartbeat when the backup showed red but it's all good again now.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3518 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by Gostev » Jul 17, 2014 9:25 am

Thanks Craig, but can you also let us know what is your v7 patch level?

malibu.vf
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 07, 2013 10:23 am
Full Name: Volker Frank
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by malibu.vf » Aug 14, 2015 5:49 pm

Hi Folks,

we are Working with HyperV Edition and had the same error after Changeing Mainboard in one Server.
This workaround did sove our problem!

regards

Volker

sabicao
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 05, 2015 2:34 pm
Full Name: Fernando Gomes
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by sabicao » Nov 05, 2015 2:46 pm

Gostev wrote:Thanks Craig, but can you also let us know what is your v7 patch level?
Gostev, I'm running v7 with latest patch. Yesterday I updated one of my hosts from 5.1 to 5.5. After that, all jobs failed. I did the "revoke license" thing and jobs run again, but hot-add fails for ALL the VMs in the job. Performance is severely affected, of course.

Any clue?


Cheers,

Fernando

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3518 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere hosts updates - UUID error

Post by Gostev » Nov 09, 2015 1:47 am

Hi, Fernando. No idea, but generally speaking, I don't recall any outstanding issues around running fully patched v7 against vSphere 5.5, so it must be some environment-specific problem. So please, open a support case to let one of our support engineers investigate your environment more closely. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests