Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
matrox65
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2016 10:01 am
Full Name: Juerg Grossenbacher
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by matrox65 » Jun 08, 2019 9:35 am

Hello,
i have a small enviroment with 4 ESX hosts and 1 Physical Windows 2016 Server with vCenter and Veeam BackUp&Replication. We have 40 VMs running. My Datastores are on a Storage what used Fibre. My Config are:

ESX Host
vSwitch0 (vmnic0 1'000 Full, vmnic4 10'000Full)
- vmk0 Management -> activ vmnic0, standby vmnic4
- vmk1 vMotion -> activ vmnic4, standby vmnic0

vSwtich1 (vmnic1 1'000 Full, vmnic5 10'000 Full)
- LAN for VMs

BackUp Server
- Has access to the volumes over fibre to my Storage Datastore
- Use 1 Nic for management with 10'000 Full, and 1 Nic for iSCSI connect to Secondary Repository on my NAS with 10'000 Full

My Question are:
Use Veeam now my vmk0 or vmk1 Interface on my ESX Host? Why i want that Veeam can use the 10'000 Full Interface.

best regards, matrox65

hoang92bn
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 10, 2019 2:26 am
Full Name: heroes1412
Contact:

Re: Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by hoang92bn » Jun 10, 2019 2:32 am

veeam is using mgmt vmkernal for traffic.
veeam recommend use Direct SAN Access for your topology (u already had Physical Server for Proxy)

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3539
Liked: 618 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 10, 2019 6:39 am

Veeam gehts from vCenter the full qualified domain name of the ESXi host, then ask DNs system to get the IP. You can manipulate this to use a specific interface (vmkernel IP) by manipulating DNS on Veeam B&R Server and all Proxies used. The most simplest was is by using the hosts file.

Please see full explanation and examples here: https://bp.veeam.expert/dns_resolution

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3539
Liked: 618 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 10, 2019 6:41 am

Regarding Transport mode. There are several available but all use the ESXi direct connection to VMkernel to do at least management things.

You can find a good overview of transport methods here: https://bp.veeam.expert/proxy_servers_intro

matrox65
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2016 10:01 am
Full Name: Juerg Grossenbacher
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by matrox65 » Jun 10, 2019 7:39 am

Hello,
thank you for your answers. Than i understand that i must change my Configuration on my ESX Host. I have only 2x 10Gb/s NIC's.
So i should use one of my 10Gb/s NIC for my VMs and the other one 10Gb/s NIC i must give my Management vmk0. The vMotion will receive a 1Gb/s NIC.

Is this correct?

best regards, matrox65

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5065
Liked: 439 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by P.Tide » Jun 13, 2019 11:56 am

Given that you have a physical Veeam host that has a direct access to the production storage, you should rather go for Direct SAN access mode. That is, there is no need to change management NIC.

Thanks!

matrox65
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2016 10:01 am
Full Name: Juerg Grossenbacher
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by matrox65 » Jun 14, 2019 10:13 am

But for my NAS as Second Repository i use iSCSI. When i now must restore from this NAS i use the network and not Direct SAN.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5065
Liked: 439 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Which interface on my ESX connects Veeam for BackUp

Post by P.Tide » Jun 14, 2019 12:38 pm

That's totally fine - if you use thick-provisioned disks then you should be able to use Direct SAN for restores as well.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 38 guests