Wrong proxy selection with VeeamZIP?

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Wrong proxy selection with VeeamZIP?

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:54 pm

We have a pretty simple setup: Veeam 8 physical server with 20TB local storage (and connected to SAN), one additional VM proxy on the same LAN (but not same IP segment) and multiple proxies across a WAN. With automatic proxy selection on my BACKUP jobs, it always picks the right ones... but today I did a VeeamZIP for a VM I'm decommissioning, and it chose two proxies ACROSS THE WAN to use to back up to LOCAL storage (the other local VM proxy was disabled because of something else I was testing.)

Is this expected behavior, where VeeamZIP jobs just pick random proxies? I went ahead and stopped the job, enabled the local VM proxy, and restarted it... now it chose that one, but STILL didn't choose the Veeam server itself as a proxy, which would have been the best choice as this is a SAN-accessible VM going to local veeam storage. (and no, the veeam server wasn't doing any other jobs at all.) It's as if it was insisting on using hotadd for this job, and since the only proxies available (first job) that can do hotadd were across the wan, it chose them.

Just trying to understand what happened here... not a huge deal since my backup/replication jobs ARE choosing sane proxies and I don't VeeamZIP that often. It's also curious that VeeamZIP has no ability to let you select the proxy... unless I'm just missing it.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 131
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: Wrong proxy selection with VeeamZIP?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:29 pm

VeeamZIP should be picking up the same proxy servers as your backup jobs do, so I wonder what info is contained in the logs of this VeeamZIP job.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20098
Liked: 1158 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Wrong proxy selection with VeeamZIP?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:51 am

What proxies are involved if you back up this VM using the normal backup job?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15386
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Wrong proxy selection with VeeamZIP?

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:21 pm

The VM has been decommissioned, so I can't run any more backups on it. At this point it's just a curiosity and I came here just to see if anyone had seen something similar. The next time I do a VeeamZIP I'll pay closer attention and run some backup tests on the VM to see what proxies are chosen vs when the VeeamZIP runs.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 131
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: Wrong proxy selection with VeeamZIP?

Veeam Logoby andyg » Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:44 pm

i also have this issue, the Veeamzip is choosing an IP on the repository that's not accessible.
-= VMCE v9 certified =-
andyg
Service Provider
 
Posts: 58
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:51 am
Full Name: Andy Goldschmidt


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest