Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
pdub
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 11, 2013 2:23 pm
Full Name: CJ

WWYD? - mix of licensed and unlicensed hosts

Post by pdub » Sep 11, 2013 2:48 pm

i have 3 remote offices incl hq plus the colo
running veeam in my colo'd datacenter on 3 licensed physical hosts, all configured, all is well, love my veeam, i replicate to hq
i place domain controllers (not primary) in each remote office for printing, dhcp, dns and directory services only
these remote dc's are vm windows servers running on freebie vsphere - unlicensed
i would prefer to back these servers up, and i would love to use veeam, but it makes no sense to license them imo
the recovery goal would be a full restore in the event of a loss, really don't need granular restore
how would you approach this?

i've thought maybe run the freebie veeam on some local computer within the remote office - but i'm concerned about reliability and security of a windows 7 desktop housing the backup
i've thought just use built in windows backup but my restore wouldn't be as great as it would with veeam

could i run freebie veeam on the dc itself and back itself up to the host's local datastore?

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 628
Liked: 156 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: WWYD? - mix of licensed and unlicensed hosts

Post by nefes » Sep 11, 2013 2:55 pm

CJ, VMWare API is restricted on free ESX(i), so there is no possibility for Veeam to back up VMs from such hosts - no matter what Veeam edition you use and where it is set up.

However, Free Hyper-V have no such limitation - maybe this could help you.

pdub
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 11, 2013 2:23 pm
Full Name: CJ

Re: WWYD? - mix of licensed and unlicensed hosts

Post by pdub » Sep 11, 2013 4:13 pm

thank you for the info nefes!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: edxh and 28 guests