Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jamerson
Expert
Posts: 307
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

your idea please !

Post by jamerson » Apr 18, 2014 9:18 am

Dear All,
on my productie I have the next :
Domain controller
Exchange Server
Veeam back up server
the 3 servers are Virtual,
Domain controller :
has two HDD, one for OS on the SSD data store, second one is on different datastore for data.

Exchange has one HDD
,
I wanna back up both Exchange and Domain controller on two different Jobs,
Job one is for the OS
Job two is for the Data on the DC Disk 2

please any suggestions how to do this on a best practice?


regards
Julien

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24017
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by Gostev » Apr 18, 2014 9:20 am

Just exclude the disks you don't want to backup from processing in each job.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 307
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by jamerson » Apr 18, 2014 9:23 am

Gostev wrote:Just exclude the disks you don't want to backup from processing in each job.
you mean create two different jobs one for the OS, and exclude the Data Disk
and the second one just for the Data Disk ?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16134
Liked: 1315 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by v.eremin » Apr 18, 2014 9:31 am

If this what you're after, then, yes. One job for OS, the other for Data Disk.

However, what is the reason behind such a decision? The restoration process would be much easier, if both system and data disks of given VM were processed by one job.

Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 307
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by jamerson » Apr 18, 2014 9:40 am

v.Eremin wrote:If this what you're after, then, yes. One job for OS, the other for Data Disk.

However, what is the reason behind such a decision? The restoration process would be much easier, if both system and data disks of given VM were processed by one job.

Thanks.
the reason behind is I've configured it before like this
to backup the whole VM, however when the DC is down, couldn't restore just disk 0 ( Os ), had to restore the whole VM which took times and had affected the Production,
I really wanna have both VMS in one job which gonna make it easy for me,
is there is a way to test the back up its backed up both Disks ?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16134
Liked: 1315 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by v.eremin » Apr 18, 2014 9:48 am

Is there is a way to test the back up its backed up both Disks ?
It can't be tested beforehand, until the backup process is finished. I still suggest you to investigate the unexpected behavior (inability of OS disk restoration) with the support team. Once the root cause is found, you won't have to use creative workarounds any longer.

Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 307
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by jamerson » Apr 18, 2014 11:05 am

Thank you Eremin,
I am testing this now, before I contact the Technical team.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22289
Liked: 1413 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 20, 2014 7:31 pm

jamerson wrote:to backup the whole VM, however when the DC is down, couldn't restore just disk 0 ( Os ), had to restore the whole VM which took times and had affected the Production,
I really wanna have both VMS in one job which gonna make it easy for me,
Do you mean you couldn't restore just VM virtual disk? Also if you don't want to wait till VM full restores, you may want to consider using Instant VM Recovery functionality.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 307
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: your idea please !

Post by jamerson » Apr 29, 2014 3:58 pm

my problem is fixed, I believe the VM been edited and we didn't edite the backup job !
thank you so much !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests