-
- Veeam ProPartner
- Posts: 76
- Liked: 7 times
- Joined: Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
- Full Name: Matthew Ogden
- Contact:
Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Previously to Veeam 7 the following grouping expression worked
CASE WHEN IndexOf(Name,"replica") > 0 THEN "Replica"
when IndexOf(Name,"Replica") > 0 then "Replica"
when IndexOf(Name,"Clone") > 0 then "Clone"
when IndexOf(Name,"clone") > 0 then "Clone"
when IndexOf(Name,"Test") > 0 then "Test"
when IndexOf(Name,"test") > 0 then "Test"
when IndexOf(Name,"_lab") > 0 then "Test"
when IndexOf(Name,"_Lab") > 0 then "Test"
ELSE "Production"
END
Now, > and < are no longer supported, only = in version 7. Not sure how to workaround that.
CASE WHEN IndexOf(Name,"replica") > 0 THEN "Replica"
when IndexOf(Name,"Replica") > 0 then "Replica"
when IndexOf(Name,"Clone") > 0 then "Clone"
when IndexOf(Name,"clone") > 0 then "Clone"
when IndexOf(Name,"Test") > 0 then "Test"
when IndexOf(Name,"test") > 0 then "Test"
when IndexOf(Name,"_lab") > 0 then "Test"
when IndexOf(Name,"_Lab") > 0 then "Test"
ELSE "Production"
END
Now, > and < are no longer supported, only = in version 7. Not sure how to workaround that.
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Matthew, this is unexpected behavior. Let me check it with the dev team. I will update this topic once I have more details.
-
- Veeam ProPartner
- Posts: 76
- Liked: 7 times
- Joined: Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
- Full Name: Matthew Ogden
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Just a quick note, I only tested the < > with IndexOf inside a CASE
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Matthew,
It seems like a bug in v7, we will address it in patch 1 which is coming very soon. In order to help you with the current issue, can you please tell me what you're trying to achieve and what are the names of your VMs you're trying to categorize?
Thanks!
It seems like a bug in v7, we will address it in patch 1 which is coming very soon. In order to help you with the current issue, can you please tell me what you're trying to achieve and what are the names of your VMs you're trying to categorize?
Thanks!
-
- Veeam ProPartner
- Posts: 76
- Liked: 7 times
- Joined: Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
- Full Name: Matthew Ogden
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
For some reason I didn't get a notification via email of your reply.
Our Test and Replica VMs need to be automatically catogorised so that we can ignore certain alarms. (snapshot of of a test replica for a developer for example).
It needs to be automatic. its absolute chaos for us without it. (random alerts).
Our Test and Replica VMs need to be automatically catogorised so that we can ignore certain alarms. (snapshot of of a test replica for a developer for example).
It needs to be automatic. its absolute chaos for us without it. (random alerts).
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Hi, Matthew, can you provide us with the Virtual Machine name examples, so that, we can try to write some other expression that categories VM in the same way?
Thanks.
Thanks.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: never
- Joined: May 11, 2012 7:30 am
- Full Name: Ray Turner
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Hi,
They would be named something like" VM1_replica_A, VM1_replica_B, VM2_clone, VM2_test
They would be named something like" VM1_replica_A, VM1_replica_B, VM2_clone, VM2_test
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Actually, in order to create a required grouping expression it’s necessary to understand the exact Virtual Machine names. Assuming that phrases such as “test”, “_lab”, etc. are added to the end of the job name (in other words, typical VM name is “Virtual Machine_lab” or “Virtual Machine Test”, you can use something like this:
Hope this helps.
Thanks.
Code: Select all
CASE WHEN Right(Name, 4) = "_Lab" THEN "Test"
CASE WHEN Right(Name, 4) = "_lab" THEN "Test"
CASE WHEN Right(Name, 4) = "Test" THEN "Test"
***************etc***********************
Thanks.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: never
- Joined: May 11, 2012 7:30 am
- Full Name: Ray Turner
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Hi Vladimir,
That doesn't really work for us, as our grouping expression use names containing 'replica' / 'test' which are not allows only from the right.
For example, using Matthews expression, these VM's would used to be categorized:
Virtual_Lab_106-S_Subnet_1_255
dbserver_replica_S
Machine Test App -vnx3100
That doesn't really work for us, as our grouping expression use names containing 'replica' / 'test' which are not allows only from the right.
For example, using Matthews expression, these VM's would used to be categorized:
Virtual_Lab_106-S_Subnet_1_255
dbserver_replica_S
Machine Test App -vnx3100
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Then, it seems that there is currently no way how you can group these VMs in automatic fashion. However, this bug should be fixed patch#1 that will be released soon.
Thanks.
Thanks.
-
- Veeam ProPartner
- Posts: 76
- Liked: 7 times
- Joined: Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
- Full Name: Matthew Ogden
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
cant you supply us a hot fix then in the mean time? Or when is patch #1 due?
The biggest issue, is that VM's used for surebackup dont get caught in this rule.... and they have dynamic names, so they cannot be caught by the rule
The biggest issue, is that VM's used for surebackup dont get caught in this rule.... and they have dynamic names, so they cannot be caught by the rule
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
The same ETA as for VB&R Patch#2 (November). According to a plan, this bug should be fixed in this patch, if, of course, nothing unexpected is revealed during internal patch testing.Or when is patch #1 due?
Thanks.
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 63
- Liked: 7 times
- Joined: Apr 04, 2011 8:56 am
- Full Name: Joern Westermann
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Hi,
this issue is not fixed in Veeam One V7R1? I tested it and it still doesn't work.
Bye
Joern
this issue is not fixed in Veeam One V7R1? I tested it and it still doesn't work.
Bye
Joern
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 63
- Liked: 7 times
- Joined: Apr 04, 2011 8:56 am
- Full Name: Joern Westermann
- Contact:
[MERGED] Grouping expression - "Folder" property
Hi,
we have organized our VMs in a hierarchical tree with folders.
Example:
<customer1>
<linux>
VM1
VM2
<windows>
VM3
VM4
<customer2>
....
Is it possible to group VMs by the 1st hierarchic level (here: customer)?
I tried grouping expressions only with "Folder" (returns the names of the leaves of the tree) or with IndexOf (is there any possibilty to create an expression if one strings contains a specific substring?)
Any ideas?
Many thanks
Joern
we have organized our VMs in a hierarchical tree with folders.
Example:
<customer1>
<linux>
VM1
VM2
<windows>
VM3
VM4
<customer2>
....
Is it possible to group VMs by the 1st hierarchic level (here: customer)?
I tried grouping expressions only with "Folder" (returns the names of the leaves of the tree) or with IndexOf (is there any possibilty to create an expression if one strings contains a specific substring?)
Any ideas?
Many thanks
Joern
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Do you mean Veeam ONE v7 R2?
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 63
- Liked: 7 times
- Joined: Apr 04, 2011 8:56 am
- Full Name: Joern Westermann
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Yes, sorry. 7.0.0.912.
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
Ok, let me check it with the devs tomorrow.
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
We have confirmed this bug and have already started working on the hotfix. Please open a support case to be notified about its availability. Sorry for the inconvenience.
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Broken grouping expression since upgrade to 7
This issue has been fixed in the patch for Veeam ONE v7R2. You can download it using the same KB link > http://forums.veeam.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=19698
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests