Business categorization for your virtual environment
Post Reply
Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Feb 26, 2019 8:47 am

Hello

For VMWare i can use Tags for a Category. We have Server with multiple Roles and set a "Role" Tag Category in VMWare.

For Hyper-V i have see now Custom Properties can be added to a Category in BusinessView. But i have a Problem, we have set "Role1, "Role2" in SCVMM as Custom Proberty. in BusinessView i can add only 1 Custom Property per Category?

I have tried to add the second but can not verify. Is here a way to add more Custom Properties to 1 BusinessView Category like VMWare?

Best Regards,
Jan Grimm

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Feb 27, 2019 6:13 pm

Hi Jan,
Could you elaborate how you create the Business View categorization?
Do you use grouping expression option or create rules manually? What product version are you at?
Thanks!

Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Feb 28, 2019 8:14 am

Could you elaborate how you create the Business View categorization?
Do you use grouping expression option or create rules manually? What product version are you at?
Under VeeamONE Console -> Business View -> Virtual Machines -> Hyper-V i created a Category with name "Funktion" -> Grouping expression -> here i added "CustomProperty("Funktion")" in the expression field -> select not create scvmm custom Properties -> Save

This works great, now we want a second custom property in this category. my idea was to add a second expression "CustomProperty("Funktion2")" bus this failed.

for VMWare we have the same Category and added "Tag("Role")" to it. VMWare use this Tag as Category and all another Tags with Category "Role" will by show in the BusinessView Category.

Is a scenario like VMWare possible for SCVMM? When we export to a excel it shows strange when Hyper-V VM has 3 Columns "Funktion", "Funktion2" and "Funktion3" and VMWare shows alle Roles in the same Column and Category.

We use VeeamONE 9.5.4.4566

best regards,
Jan Grimm

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Feb 28, 2019 11:16 am

I would try to create groups manually with "Multiple conditions" option.
Create there 2 groups with "Custom property" condition.
If you want to use grouping expression instead, please provide the expression text you use now.
Thanks

Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Feb 28, 2019 1:41 pm

"Multiple conditions" not work, i have to set a specified Custem Property value and can not select the Property itself.

the current expression:
CustomProperty("Funktion")

i wanted and not work:
CustomProperty("Funktion")
CustomProperty("Funktion2")

we want two(or more) CustomProperty Tags from SCVMM in one BusinessView Category.

I have tried with (not work)
CustomProperty("Funktion");CustomProperty("Funktion2")

and (not work)
CustomProperty("Funktion","Funktion2")

best regards,
Jan Grimm

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Feb 28, 2019 4:29 pm

"Multiple conditions" not work, i have to set a specified Custem Property value and can not select the Property itself.
Looks like we need to change it to "Custom property name" and "Custom property value". Thanks for the request!
So your goal is to have in one Business View category as many groups as many custom property values you have in 2 custom properties (Funktion and Funktion2). Is that correct?

Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Mar 01, 2019 8:40 am

So your goal is to have in one Business View category as many groups as many custom property values you have in 2 custom properties (Funktion and Funktion2). Is that correct?
correct, a better example:

We have Custom Property Name "Funktion1", "Funktion2" and "Funktion3" the follow Values are defined:
  • Funktion1: Domain Controller
  • Funktion2: SCOM Gateway
  • Funktion3: RDS Licensing
at the moment the follow is possible in VeeamONE:

Code: Select all

- BusinessView
  - Virtual Machines
    - Hyper-V
      - Funktion (BusinessView Category)
        - Domain Controller
      - Funktion2 (BusinessView Category)
        - SCOM Gateway
      - Funktion3 (BusinessView Category)
        - RDS Licensing
I can set the Value for "Funktion" to "Domain Controler, SCOM Gateway, RDS Licensing". Then i have this in BusinessView:

Code: Select all

- BusinessView
  - Virtual Machines
    - Hyper-V
      - Funktion (BusinessView Category)
        - Domain Controller, SCOM Gateway, RDS Licensing
This is a bad solution for us, while we have another server that has only SCOM Gateway or RDS Licensing. the goal is to select "SCOM Gateway" and shows all Server that has this "Funktion"

What we want:

Code: Select all

- BusinessView
  - Virtual Machines
    - Hyper-V
      - Funktion (BusinessView Category)
        - Domain Controller
        - SCOM Gateway
        - RDS Licensing
 
With VMWare this is possible a long time while in vSphere you can set multiple Tag Values to one Tag Category, SCVMM has only one Value per Property Name.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Mar 01, 2019 1:56 pm 1 person likes this post

I would try the following expression

Code: Select all

CASE
WHEN CustomProperty("Funktion") = "server" ||  CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "server" || CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER"
WHEN CustomProperty("Funktion") = "mail" ||  CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "mail" || CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "mail" THEN "MAILSERVER"
END

Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Mar 01, 2019 4:20 pm

With this I have the error: Expression is incorrect.

Second test with only CustomProperty("Funktion1") = "server" THEN "SERVER" and have the same error.

At the moment i see only one solution:
Create the category as multiple condition and add all CustomProperty values by hand as a separate group. very much effort

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Mar 01, 2019 5:02 pm

hm, strange. I'll ask developers to participate

bw3d
Veeam Software
Posts: 1
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 13, 2016 1:53 pm
Full Name: Alexey Sobolev
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by bw3d » Mar 04, 2019 1:49 pm 2 people like this post

just use "customproperty" in low case :

CASE
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER"
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" THEN "MAILSERVER"
END

Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Mar 13, 2019 12:51 pm

CASE
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER"
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" THEN "MAILSERVER"
END
Thank you, this work

But i have created now a PS Script who generate the above Case an exporting to a txt file. So i can open and make copy paste. Now the Problem:
Here are 13'920 characters at the moment. in VeeamONE in can paste all lines but then the verfiy failed. i can only add 5 - 6 Lines for a success verify.

Has the expression a character limitation?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Mar 13, 2019 4:44 pm 1 person likes this post

As far as I'm concerned there is no such a limitation. In future versions we will make UI more user friendly so it will highlight what failed the verification.

Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Mar 13, 2019 8:25 pm

OK, i will open a Case. i can't find a problem with the expression i added.
have added WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER" line for line and after 5 lines i have a verify error. when i use only the last line after error it works for 5 lines.

a little bit tricky to explain :)

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Mar 14, 2019 5:48 am 1 person likes this post

Once you have a support case number, please post it here for reference.
Thanks

Jan1987
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Jan Grimm
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Jan1987 » Mar 18, 2019 10:47 am

Hello

Here is the support case: #03462113

for the problem with expression length i have now a hotfix. have see is a top issues in the issue tracker. Now the problem is that the expression not work when i use
"WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server""

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7009
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties

Post by Shestakov » Mar 18, 2019 12:14 pm

Thanks for the update, Jan.
Please keep working with the support to resolve the issue with expression.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest