-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Hyper-V Custom Properties
Hello
For VMWare i can use Tags for a Category. We have Server with multiple Roles and set a "Role" Tag Category in VMWare.
For Hyper-V i have see now Custom Properties can be added to a Category in BusinessView. But i have a Problem, we have set "Role1, "Role2" in SCVMM as Custom Proberty. in BusinessView i can add only 1 Custom Property per Category?
I have tried to add the second but can not verify. Is here a way to add more Custom Properties to 1 BusinessView Category like VMWare?
Best Regards,
Jan Grimm
For VMWare i can use Tags for a Category. We have Server with multiple Roles and set a "Role" Tag Category in VMWare.
For Hyper-V i have see now Custom Properties can be added to a Category in BusinessView. But i have a Problem, we have set "Role1, "Role2" in SCVMM as Custom Proberty. in BusinessView i can add only 1 Custom Property per Category?
I have tried to add the second but can not verify. Is here a way to add more Custom Properties to 1 BusinessView Category like VMWare?
Best Regards,
Jan Grimm
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
Hi Jan,
Could you elaborate how you create the Business View categorization?
Do you use grouping expression option or create rules manually? What product version are you at?
Thanks!
Could you elaborate how you create the Business View categorization?
Do you use grouping expression option or create rules manually? What product version are you at?
Thanks!
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
Under VeeamONE Console -> Business View -> Virtual Machines -> Hyper-V i created a Category with name "Funktion" -> Grouping expression -> here i added "CustomProperty("Funktion")" in the expression field -> select not create scvmm custom Properties -> SaveCould you elaborate how you create the Business View categorization?
Do you use grouping expression option or create rules manually? What product version are you at?
This works great, now we want a second custom property in this category. my idea was to add a second expression "CustomProperty("Funktion2")" bus this failed.
for VMWare we have the same Category and added "Tag("Role")" to it. VMWare use this Tag as Category and all another Tags with Category "Role" will by show in the BusinessView Category.
Is a scenario like VMWare possible for SCVMM? When we export to a excel it shows strange when Hyper-V VM has 3 Columns "Funktion", "Funktion2" and "Funktion3" and VMWare shows alle Roles in the same Column and Category.
We use VeeamONE 9.5.4.4566
best regards,
Jan Grimm
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
I would try to create groups manually with "Multiple conditions" option.
Create there 2 groups with "Custom property" condition.
If you want to use grouping expression instead, please provide the expression text you use now.
Thanks
Create there 2 groups with "Custom property" condition.
If you want to use grouping expression instead, please provide the expression text you use now.
Thanks
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
"Multiple conditions" not work, i have to set a specified Custem Property value and can not select the Property itself.
the current expression:
CustomProperty("Funktion")
i wanted and not work:
CustomProperty("Funktion")
CustomProperty("Funktion2")
we want two(or more) CustomProperty Tags from SCVMM in one BusinessView Category.
I have tried with (not work)
CustomProperty("Funktion");CustomProperty("Funktion2")
and (not work)
CustomProperty("Funktion","Funktion2")
best regards,
Jan Grimm
the current expression:
CustomProperty("Funktion")
i wanted and not work:
CustomProperty("Funktion")
CustomProperty("Funktion2")
we want two(or more) CustomProperty Tags from SCVMM in one BusinessView Category.
I have tried with (not work)
CustomProperty("Funktion");CustomProperty("Funktion2")
and (not work)
CustomProperty("Funktion","Funktion2")
best regards,
Jan Grimm
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
Looks like we need to change it to "Custom property name" and "Custom property value". Thanks for the request!"Multiple conditions" not work, i have to set a specified Custem Property value and can not select the Property itself.
So your goal is to have in one Business View category as many groups as many custom property values you have in 2 custom properties (Funktion and Funktion2). Is that correct?
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
correct, a better example:So your goal is to have in one Business View category as many groups as many custom property values you have in 2 custom properties (Funktion and Funktion2). Is that correct?
We have Custom Property Name "Funktion1", "Funktion2" and "Funktion3" the follow Values are defined:
- Funktion1: Domain Controller
- Funktion2: SCOM Gateway
- Funktion3: RDS Licensing
Code: Select all
- BusinessView
- Virtual Machines
- Hyper-V
- Funktion (BusinessView Category)
- Domain Controller
- Funktion2 (BusinessView Category)
- SCOM Gateway
- Funktion3 (BusinessView Category)
- RDS Licensing
Code: Select all
- BusinessView
- Virtual Machines
- Hyper-V
- Funktion (BusinessView Category)
- Domain Controller, SCOM Gateway, RDS Licensing
What we want:
Code: Select all
- BusinessView
- Virtual Machines
- Hyper-V
- Funktion (BusinessView Category)
- Domain Controller
- SCOM Gateway
- RDS Licensing
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
I would try the following expression
Code: Select all
CASE
WHEN CustomProperty("Funktion") = "server" || CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "server" || CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER"
WHEN CustomProperty("Funktion") = "mail" || CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "mail" || CustomProperty("Funktion2") = "mail" THEN "MAILSERVER"
END
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
With this I have the error: Expression is incorrect.
Second test with only CustomProperty("Funktion1") = "server" THEN "SERVER" and have the same error.
At the moment i see only one solution:
Create the category as multiple condition and add all CustomProperty values by hand as a separate group. very much effort
Second test with only CustomProperty("Funktion1") = "server" THEN "SERVER" and have the same error.
At the moment i see only one solution:
Create the category as multiple condition and add all CustomProperty values by hand as a separate group. very much effort
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
hm, strange. I'll ask developers to participate
-
- Lurker
- Posts: 1
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Jan 13, 2016 1:53 pm
- Full Name: Alexey Sobolev
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
just use "customproperty" in low case :
CASE
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER"
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" THEN "MAILSERVER"
END
CASE
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER"
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" THEN "MAILSERVER"
END
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
Thank you, this workCASE
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER"
WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "mail" THEN "MAILSERVER"
END
But i have created now a PS Script who generate the above Case an exporting to a txt file. So i can open and make copy paste. Now the Problem:
Here are 13'920 characters at the moment. in VeeamONE in can paste all lines but then the verfiy failed. i can only add 5 - 6 Lines for a success verify.
Has the expression a character limitation?
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
As far as I'm concerned there is no such a limitation. In future versions we will make UI more user friendly so it will highlight what failed the verification.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
OK, i will open a Case. i can't find a problem with the expression i added.
have added WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER" line for line and after 5 lines i have a verify error. when i use only the last line after error it works for 5 lines.
a little bit tricky to explain
have added WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" || customproperty("Funktion2") = "server" THEN "SERVER" line for line and after 5 lines i have a verify error. when i use only the last line after error it works for 5 lines.
a little bit tricky to explain
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
Once you have a support case number, please post it here for reference.
Thanks
Thanks
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 19
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: May 16, 2018 7:50 am
- Full Name: Jan Grimm
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
Hello
Here is the support case: #03462113
for the problem with expression length i have now a hotfix. have see is a top issues in the issue tracker. Now the problem is that the expression not work when i use
"WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server""
Here is the support case: #03462113
for the problem with expression length i have now a hotfix. have see is a top issues in the issue tracker. Now the problem is that the expression not work when i use
"WHEN customproperty("Funktion") = "server""
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Hyper-V Custom Properties
Thanks for the update, Jan.
Please keep working with the support to resolve the issue with expression.
Please keep working with the support to resolve the issue with expression.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest