-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 68
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
- Full Name: tntteam
- Contact:
veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Hi,
I'm trying to group VMs based on folder, but most of the time there is subfolders.
I know in v8 it was not possible, is it possible in v9 ? I just upgraded and found the "Location" attribute, but interface won't show me what's inside "Location" because of characters length limitation in the rule editor :
If I put only "Location" in expression and enter a test VM, I get :
Expression result
>Virtual Infrastructure>vcenter.domain>DatacenterName>ClusterName...
Hello 2016 and slider bars to replace "..."
I tried :
Case
If IndexOf("TeamA", Location) > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf("TeamB", Location) > 0 Then "B"
Else "Other"
End
Not working.
Any help ?
Thanks and sorry for my terrible english
sample hierarchy :
Datacenter
---> Cluster
--->--->TeamA
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM1
--->--->--->--->VM2
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->Subtests
--->--->--->--->--->VM3
--->--->--->--->--->VM4
--->--->--->VM5
--->--->--->VM6
--->--->TeamB
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM7
--->--->--->--->VM8
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->VM9
--->--->--->VM10
--->--->--->VM11
I'm trying to group VMs based on folder, but most of the time there is subfolders.
I know in v8 it was not possible, is it possible in v9 ? I just upgraded and found the "Location" attribute, but interface won't show me what's inside "Location" because of characters length limitation in the rule editor :
If I put only "Location" in expression and enter a test VM, I get :
Expression result
>Virtual Infrastructure>vcenter.domain>DatacenterName>ClusterName...
Hello 2016 and slider bars to replace "..."
I tried :
Case
If IndexOf("TeamA", Location) > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf("TeamB", Location) > 0 Then "B"
Else "Other"
End
Not working.
Any help ?
Thanks and sorry for my terrible english
sample hierarchy :
Datacenter
---> Cluster
--->--->TeamA
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM1
--->--->--->--->VM2
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->Subtests
--->--->--->--->--->VM3
--->--->--->--->--->VM4
--->--->--->VM5
--->--->--->VM6
--->--->TeamB
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM7
--->--->--->--->VM8
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->VM9
--->--->--->VM10
--->--->--->VM11
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 68
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
- Full Name: tntteam
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Nevermind, I used the datastore names as they contains team name.
CASE
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Datastore), "TEAMA") > 1 THEN "A"
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Datastore), "TEAMB") > 1 THEN "B"
ELSE "Other"
END
CASE
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Datastore), "TEAMA") > 1 THEN "A"
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Datastore), "TEAMB") > 1 THEN "B"
ELSE "Other"
END
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Can you please try this expression? Should work.tntteam wrote:Case
If IndexOf("TeamA", Location) > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf("TeamB", Location) > 0 Then "B"
Else "Other"
End
Not working.
Code: Select all
Case
If IndexOf(Location, "TeamA") > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf(Location, "TeamB") > 0 Then "B"
Else "Other"
End
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 68
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
- Full Name: tntteam
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
The problem is subfolders
if VM is in subfolder, it won't work because veeam-one is not aware of vmware blue folders view hierarchy
if VM is in subfolder, it won't work because veeam-one is not aware of vmware blue folders view hierarchy
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Actually it is aware, if you use one of these parameters (Folder or UserLocation) you should be able to categorize VMs based on their folders. Additionally, VM folders (blue ones) are available in static rules. Let me know if that helps!
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 68
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
- Full Name: tntteam
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Weird, taking my sample hierarchy :
Datacenter
---> Cluster
--->--->TeamA
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM1
--->--->--->--->VM2
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->Subtests
--->--->--->--->--->VM3
--->--->--->--->--->VM4
--->--->--->VM5
--->--->--->VM6
--->--->TeamB
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM7
--->--->--->--->VM8
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->VM9
--->--->--->VM10
--->--->--->VM11
If I use
Case
If IndexOf(Location, "TeamA") > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf(UserLocation, "TeamA") > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf(Folder, "TeamA") > 0 Then "A"
Else "Other"
End
On VM1, it gives "Other"
Datacenter
---> Cluster
--->--->TeamA
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM1
--->--->--->--->VM2
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->Subtests
--->--->--->--->--->VM3
--->--->--->--->--->VM4
--->--->--->VM5
--->--->--->VM6
--->--->TeamB
--->--->--->Prod
--->--->--->--->VM7
--->--->--->--->VM8
--->--->--->Test
--->--->--->--->VM9
--->--->--->VM10
--->--->--->VM11
If I use
Case
If IndexOf(Location, "TeamA") > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf(UserLocation, "TeamA") > 0 Then "A"
If IndexOf(Folder, "TeamA") > 0 Then "A"
Else "Other"
End
On VM1, it gives "Other"
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Hmm... can you try to replace "if" with "when" in each line and see what result it returns?
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 68
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
- Full Name: tntteam
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Not better. In fact I think I used "when" in my tests and reported "if" by mistake. Because using "if" gives "undefined" or "syntax error", depending on the mood of the syntax interpreter.Vitaliy S. wrote:Hmm... can you try to replace "if" with "when" in each line and see what result it returns?
But did you reproduce it on your side? Multi sublevel of blue folders ? It works ?
If I enter "Location" alone in grouping expression with a sample VM, it shows :
>Virtual Infrastructure>vcenter-server-name>Datacenter Name>Cluster Name truncated followed by 3 dots...
This shows that "Location" will give wrong results as blue folder path is not aware of cluster, it only cares about datacenter.
If I enter "Folder" or "UserLocation" alone in grouping expression with a sample VM, it shows :
Nothing. It's empty.
Maybe it's because my vcenter version is old ? (5.1)
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Can you please execute this query against your database? If it results in zero records, then please contact our support team with a reference to this thread and let me your case ID. A hotfix might be required to resolve this.
Code: Select all
select * From reporter.LatestObjectProperty where PropertyID = 884
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 68
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
- Full Name: tntteam
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Hi,
Yes this query returns no entries in database.
I opened a SR : 01715058
Yes this query returns no entries in database.
I opened a SR : 01715058
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 24, 2017 11:13 am
- Full Name: David
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Dear all,
sorry for doing an up on an older post but we are facing a similar problem with Veeam 9.5.
We have following folder structure in vCenter
Data Center
---> Division 1
---> Team A
---> VM1
---> VM2
---> Team B
---> VM1
---> VM2
---> VM3
---> Division 2
---> Team C
---> VM1
---> Team D
---> VM1
We are now trying to create groups and/or categories per team.
We tried multiple solutions we found in different posts but couldn't get it working.
Test1
Case
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM A" THEN "A"
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM B" THEN "B"
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM C" THEN "C"
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM D" THEN "D"
Else "Others"
End
All VMs are pointed to Others...
Test 2
CASE
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Folder), "TEAM A") > 0 THEN "A"
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Folder), "TEAM B") > 0 THEN "B"
ELSE "Others"
END
All VMs are pointed out to Others
Test 3
CASE
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Location), "TEAM A") > 0 THEN "A"
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Location), "TEAM B") > 0 THEN "B"
ELSE "Others"
END
All VMs are pointed out to Others
Test 4
We tries to create a category per team and then a rule for virtual machine objects type we applied it to a folder and selected "By infrastructure location" type.
This works almost fine unfortunately we do only see the first level of folder. All sub-folders are hidden and not taken in account.
Do you see what we are doing wrong here?
Many thanks for your support
David
sorry for doing an up on an older post but we are facing a similar problem with Veeam 9.5.
We have following folder structure in vCenter
Data Center
---> Division 1
---> Team A
---> VM1
---> VM2
---> Team B
---> VM1
---> VM2
---> VM3
---> Division 2
---> Team C
---> VM1
---> Team D
---> VM1
We are now trying to create groups and/or categories per team.
We tried multiple solutions we found in different posts but couldn't get it working.
Test1
Case
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM A" THEN "A"
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM B" THEN "B"
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM C" THEN "C"
When ToUpperCase(folder) = "TEAM D" THEN "D"
Else "Others"
End
All VMs are pointed to Others...
Test 2
CASE
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Folder), "TEAM A") > 0 THEN "A"
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Folder), "TEAM B") > 0 THEN "B"
ELSE "Others"
END
All VMs are pointed out to Others
Test 3
CASE
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Location), "TEAM A") > 0 THEN "A"
WHEN IndexOf(ToUpperCase(Location), "TEAM B") > 0 THEN "B"
ELSE "Others"
END
All VMs are pointed out to Others
Test 4
We tries to create a category per team and then a rule for virtual machine objects type we applied it to a folder and selected "By infrastructure location" type.
This works almost fine unfortunately we do only see the first level of folder. All sub-folders are hidden and not taken in account.
Do you see what we are doing wrong here?
Many thanks for your support
David
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 7328
- Liked: 781 times
- Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
- Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: veeam one v9 grouping dynamic based on Location
Hello David,
Since you don`t need groups to be created and deleted dynamically, I would suggest working with static ones.
You can create Category "Division 1" with static groups "Team A", "Team B"... with rules for each group adding VMs of particular folders into the groups.
Thanks!
Since you don`t need groups to be created and deleted dynamically, I would suggest working with static ones.
You can create Category "Division 1" with static groups "Team A", "Team B"... with rules for each group adding VMs of particular folders into the groups.
Thanks!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests