File-level backup from NAS, file shares and file servers
Post Reply
perjonsson1960
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

File Share Backups

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Folks,

Are File Share Backups something new that has been added to B&R recently? Or has it been there for a long time? I haven't noticed it before...
Is this a better way to backup a file server cluster, rather than backing it up in a standard backup job as a Failover Cluster?
I see that the File Share Backup has version handling for files, which could be a good thing to have...

Sincerely,
PJ

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 2176
Liked: 532 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 1 person likes this post

Hi Per,

NAS Backup came out with VBR v10 in Q1 2020. Yes, it is totally different approach for file-level protection with many additional features. If you are backing up file shares with image level backup today, definitely consider NAS Backup as an alternative approach(per-file versioning instead of block level change tracking, per-file archival strategies based on file age\versions history, per-share rollback in time just to name a few!

You can find full guide on the feature here.

/Cheers!

perjonsson1960
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Thanks!

If I want to backup file shares in physical Windows servers, must the backup proxy also be a physical server, or could it be a virtual machine in VMware?
And have I understood correctly when I say that the backup proxy and the cache repository are ideally assigned to the same machine?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28658
Liked: 5183 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by Gostev »

It could be any machine really, including the backup server itself if you share is not too big. In fact, I believe we do create the default proxy on the backup server automatically.

The key for both proxy and cache is to be on machines in the network proximity to the protected file share (same data center). I can't think of any reasons not to have both on the same machine.

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 227
Liked: 51 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by NightBird »

Ok for file share backups, but how to respect 3-2-1-1 rules ???
File share on prem, offload (copy) to S3 not possible ( (immutable or not), only archiving to S3, no File to tape job (as backup to tape job).

So how can we respect 3-2-1-1 rules with file share backup actually ?

Agent backup of file share server repository, so you can offload it ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28658
Liked: 5183 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by Gostev »

No need to jump through the hoops there, we support NAS backup copy to a regular repository natively. And more options will come in the future ;)

perjonsson1960
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by perjonsson1960 »

The "cache repository" used in a File share backup job, is that something that is used only during the backup, or is the data stored there needed for the backup chain and restores to work?

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 2176
Liked: 532 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 1 person likes this post

Only for backups.
It keeps changed files metadata to make incremental backups more efficient.

perjonsson1960
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Okay. Is there any way to determine how much diskspace the cache repository must have? Is it possible to calculate the size needed, perhaps based on the amount of source data and number of files? I am trying to locate a physical machine in our infrastructure that can take the roles of cache repository and proxy.

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 2176
Liked: 532 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 1 person likes this post

It actually more dependent on number of folders, however in any case cache size numbers are negligible.
Cache for 11,6M files in 2,4M folders will take roughly 250MB(numbers from internal labs).

perjonsson1960
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Okay. Not very much, then. :-)
And what about backup proxies? Are there any prerequisites there for disk and RAM?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 12797
Liked: 1213 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by Dima P. » 1 person likes this post

Hi,

Proxies do require local storage ~300MBs for component installation. You need at least 4GB of RAM per task (task would be a single file share processed by the proxy), more RAM = more task to process in parallel. Thanks!

perjonsson1960
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Egor Yakovlev wrote: Jun 09, 2021 8:16 am Only for backups.
It keeps changed files metadata to make incremental backups more efficient.
I am beginning to think that perhaps you misunderstood my question. In the help center it says:

"When the cache repository receives a new CRC tree structure from the proxy, it compares it with the CRC tree created during the previous run of the backup session. If any files or folders of the file share have changed since the previous backup session run, the cache repository instructs the backup proxy to start reading changed data from the source file share."

It sounds to me as if the data stored on the cache repository is needed from one session to the next? Or have I misunderstood? What happens if I empty the cache repo between sessions?

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 2176
Liked: 532 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 2 people like this post

No, file proxy cache has no strict requirement to be present between backups.
It is meant to increase performance\optimize calls to the file share in the beginning of the session. If you delete cache between runs, you will still get normal incremental backup from last run, it might just take a little longer for us to get full list of changed objects since last run (due to no cached directory tree to compare with).

perjonsson1960
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: File Share Backups

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Okay, I understand! Thanks! :-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests