Archive

Hyper-V specific discussions

Archive

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:41 am

Hi,

We would like to archive backup just in case something happen with backup server and that we have option to restore files older than 6 months. We had problem with virus and we want to protect backup server and backup in case that hacker or virus attack our system and backup server. It usually happen with online backup. One way is to have veeam server in workgroup or on separate network. We would like to ask you what you recommend in this situation. Shall we use VeeamZIP or shall we just scedule copy of job to off site and than turn off that server. Problem with weeamzip is that someone must run it manually.
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:45 am

Backup copy job allows you to copy data offsite and is scheduled however it requires powering on the remote server. Why would you turn off the remote server if I may ask?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1509
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:49 am

Hi,

We would like to have extra protection just in case if some server in domain be attacked so that nothing can spread and infect backup server.
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:56 am

You can always keep the backup server out of the domain as well as the offsite server. We see these types of deployment more and more to improve security. Would that be an option?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1509
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:05 am

That option would be best just to secure it in case something happens. Right now we have it in domain and what will happen with backups if we decide to take it from domain. We can just sync everything and keep backup running or we need to re-add jobs.
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:09 am

It should not impact the installation if you remove it from AD. Veeam installation runs from a local account so removing it from AD won't prevent it from working however if you have concerns on doing this you can setup a new server and do a migration by using the configuration backup (import it) and map the backup jobs to the correct backup files.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1509
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:18 am

We will chack what we can do. We have 2 veeam servers one for backup and another for replication. Is there a easy way just to remove it from domain and sync everything? Is NAS solution recommended to off-site backup repository? Another question is if some customer want to backup on tape. Which tape storage is recommended?
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:43 am

If you want to remove it from the domain it is just like removing any Windows server from the domain via the server properties.

In regards to offsite storage we support CIFS/SMB, Windows & Linux servers and dedupe devices. A NAS will work fine if it fits your company needs.

In regards to tape storage and our integration. We support LTO3 and newer. All you need to do is add a tape server and on that tape server install the drivers from the specific vendor's tape device (HPE, IBM,...). We have an unofficial list with supported devices: tape-f29/unofficial-tape-library-compatibility-list-t17488.html - however most will work fine. If there are no Windows drivers by a specific vendor we can leverage native Windows SCSI commands to copy the data. For more information have a look at our userguide (https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/vsp ... _jobs.html).
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1509
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Archive

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:35 am

By removing from domain I don't mean how to remove server from domain :) I was not clear there, sorry. Thank you for the info I will take a look on it and find best solution to our customers.
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests