Cant create hardware snapshots

Hyper-V specific discussions

Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:58 am

Hi
I have 2 different customers where I cant use the Hardware VSS provider.
One is HP, other is IBM.
I must have misunderstood something basic.
Ie in HP I have an array configured with a snapshot pool.
I place an machine on the CSV array that has the snapshot pool.
I choose backup machine, and I get the error below. Software snapshot Works.

HP Job gives me these errors:
Code: Select all
12-12-2012 11:42:46 :: Unable to create snapshot (HP StorageWorks P2000/MSA2000 VSS Provider) (mode: Veeam application-aware processing). Details: Failed to check whether provider '{bd04cbf9-212c-4553-9ea5-c5bfb05ccc8f}' supports shadow copies on the volume '\\?\Volume{883eb3da-7300-462c-8481-614e236df613}\'.
The shadow copy provider had an error. Check the System and Application event logs for more information.
--tr:Failed to add volumes to the snapshot set.
--tr:Failed to perform pre-backup tasks.

Nothing in event log on the host.

IBM gives me these errors:
Windows:
Code: Select all
Event id 3020: The operation cannot complete because there are not enough free drives to create the snapshot repository volume in a new volume group. Please add more free drives and try this operation again.

VEEAM:
Code: Select all
12-12-2012 08:30:52 :: Unable to create snapshot (SmVssProvider) (mode: Veeam application-aware processing). Details: Provider '{24e4e8a3-69cb-4370-8b7b-c5276cd49765}' does not support shadow copying on the volume '\\?\Volume{7a9d9671-25a8-4e15-a199-2d1faf56c526}\'.
--tr:Failed to add volumes to the snapshot set.
--tr:Failed to perform pre-backup tasks.


HP case #00165458
IBM case does not have a case number as far as I know. Anna Korshunova is helping me with it.
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard

Re: Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:07 pm

Hi, and what is Veeam case ID please?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:09 pm

The HP san has Veeam case #00165458
Sorry if it wasnt clear that its the Veeam case ID.
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard

Re: Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:07 am 2 people like this post

Regarding the IBM SAN:
The solution was to run "C:\Program Files (x86)\SMprovider\provider\SmRegTool.exe" on the 2 hosts attached to the SAN.
The default setting appears to be that the flashcopy volume is 20% of the entire storage.
I didnt have 20% free, but 15%.
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard

Re: Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:48 pm

Kenneth, thanks for updating the thread with the resolution, much appreciated!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby shinda » Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:54 am

Just wondering how you fixed the HP SAN issue - I appear to be having the same error
shinda
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:58 am
Full Name: Karl Fraser

Re: Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:07 am

The case was closed due to customer inactivity, so I suggest you to open your own case for investigation. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Cant create hardware snapshots

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Fri May 02, 2014 8:21 pm

Basicly the thing to know is that HP, IBM and Dell are actually the same hardware underneath.

On the SAN: You have to assign some harddrives to be in a shadow copy pool. This is done on the management of the SAN. Some vendors use a program, other like HP use a web interface.
You can do nothing more than that on the SAN. All else is controlled on the host backing up.

On the host, or proxy if you use that: Download and install VSS provider driver. Configure it in the registry or by using a program. As I recall HP only have registry settings, and no program to set it up.
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests