Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Hyper-V specific discussions

Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby lenart.plausteiner » Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:23 am

Hi,

I recently upgraded mine Veeam B&R v7 to Veeam B&R v8. Now I get errors like this Cluster node [*****] was not found, OR VM is no longer processed by this job. :?

I have v8 + Update rollup, so it's build 8.0.0.917.

Any help/hint would be appreciated.

Thanks for help.
lenart.plausteiner
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:23 pm
Full Name: Lenart Plausteiner

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:59 am

Did you do anything to your source infrastructure (like doing any updates)? Can you run a rescan job of the infrastructure via your Veeam backup console?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby lenart.plausteiner » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:06 am

Hi,

I ran rescan job several times but nothing really changes. In rescan job everything OK, I see all of my host within Hyper-V cluster.

No, source infrastructure is same as before upgrade to v8.

This is from "replication job" same message is with "backup job":
lenart.plausteiner
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:23 pm
Full Name: Lenart Plausteiner

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:29 am

Please avoid posting log snippets as it is described in our forum rules when you click New Topic. If rescan job does not fix this, please open a support case with our technical team and post your case ID in this topic. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby lenart.plausteiner » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:39 am

I opened support case under # 00877535. I hope there will be quick response from your technical team.

I tried to add standalone HyperV node, which is listed within HyperV cluster, under managed servers and then I edited corensponding job. Job after this succesfully starts, but it creates full snapshot.
lenart.plausteiner
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:23 pm
Full Name: Lenart Plausteiner

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:47 am

You mean full backup, not snapshot, right? Since VM ID has changed (was obtained from the host, not from the cluster) a full backup will be required, this is excepted behavior. You will be able to do incremental backups if source infrastructure remains in-tact.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby lenart.plausteiner » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:52 am

Yes sorry, Full backup.

Yes, I know that VM under this backup Job gets new ID. But it's strange that B&R can't find the old one (VM ID) under old configuration, which hasn't changed before or after upgrade od B&R.

It's strange, that if I create new backup job within that infrasturcture (old), job also fails, but I can point to the source VM I can succesfully browse for any VM.
lenart.plausteiner
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:23 pm
Full Name: Lenart Plausteiner

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:59 am

Debug logs will tell the exact reason why job discovery fails to detect VMs in the cluster, so let's wait for our support team to respond.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby lenart.plausteiner » Wed Apr 22, 2015 6:28 am 2 people like this post

Hi.

An update to this problem.

Support team was very helpful.

It looks like that Veeam B&R in v8 is sensitive on using upper/lower case in server names within HyperV/Failover cluster. After correcting those names in Veeam SQL DB everything is back to normal, and "It just works".
lenart.plausteiner
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:23 pm
Full Name: Lenart Plausteiner

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby GladstoneRC » Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:30 am

This is my exact problem. Veeam sees the old server name as lower case and the new name is uppercase.

Is there a procedure to fix this?
GladstoneRC
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:28 am
Full Name: GladstoneRC

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby lenart.plausteiner » Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:11 am 1 person likes this post

Yes. With me Veeam support helped me alot, but If you have knowledge of SQL you can fix it on your self. Find and replace record in VeeamBackup database in table "hosts". You will see something familiar like this "HyperVHost1" with GUID 'ABDFBF1-C6D9-6A8C-7C8D-9FBC8BD78638', and then you can repair host name to excatly what what you see in Windows Failover Cluster manager lower or UPPER case as server name.

Both parameters (host an GUID) you see in Veeam realtime log, within Backup job.

I hope that this will help you.
lenart.plausteiner
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:23 pm
Full Name: Lenart Plausteiner

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby GladstoneRC » Wed Jul 29, 2015 10:54 pm

Thanks Lenart, that was it !!!! All working now

Can someone from Veeam add a fix to the next release of Backup and Replication to see lowercase and UPPERCASE as the same machine.
GladstoneRC
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:28 am
Full Name: GladstoneRC

Re: Cluster node [HyperV node name] was not found.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jul 30, 2015 9:34 am

Gladstone, I will pass this info to our QA team. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests