[Installation] Connect to Hyper-V cluster from different dom

Hyper-V specific discussions

[Installation] Connect to Hyper-V cluster from different dom

Veeam Logoby lukaszh » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:23 pm

I'm trying to set up environment where all Hyper-V hosts are in dedicated and separated domain. I'm using VMM.
1. When I try to add my Hyper-V cluster to Veeam Backup, it tries to connect to servers using short names: SERVERNAME, instead of SERVERNAME.domain.local
Veeam is in another domain so this way it's unable to properly resolve names.

2. My second attempt was to user VMM. I can connect to my VMM server and gather all data from it (it's in the same domain as Veeam server) but Veeam then tries to connect to my Hyper-V hosts (correctly with SERVERNAME.domain.local) but using the same account which I'm using to VMM so it's user without permission from different domain.

I would like to not create any trust relationships.

Is there any other way to accomplish this configuration?
lukaszh
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:13 pm
Full Name: Lukasz Herman

Re: [Installation] Connect to Hyper-V cluster from different

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:22 pm

Lukasz,

How did you add the cluster to Veeam Backup? Did you use the FQDN from the cluster (cluster.domain.local)?

Second, when you query the hyper-v hosts from the VBR server, are you getting the short names or the FQDN back?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3161
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: [Installation] Connect to Hyper-V cluster from different

Veeam Logoby lukaszh » Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:22 am

Hi,

Everywhere I'm using FQDN names.
NETBIOS is disabled on all interfaces in the network.

I found a workaround by adding IP NETBIOS name pairs into my host file. This way adding Hyper-V cluster works.
lukaszh
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:13 pm
Full Name: Lukasz Herman

Re: [Installation] Connect to Hyper-V cluster from different

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:54 am

Lukasz,

Thanks for letting us know. Good that you have found a workaround. Is that the host file on your B&R server?

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3161
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: [Installation] Connect to Hyper-V cluster from different

Veeam Logoby lukaszh » Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:15 am

Yes, it's hosts file on B&R server.
lukaszh
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:13 pm
Full Name: Lukasz Herman


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests