DCOM error in eventlog

Hyper-V specific discussions

DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby horst » Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:00 am

Hi,

we have a windows 2012 hyper-v host server with Veeam B&R v7 installed. On this Host I get this error three times every morning at about 08:23 am to 08:25 am:

Code: Select all
04.09.2013 08:25:09
DCOM was unable to communicate with the computer "This server" using any of the configured protocols; requested by PID 93c (C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Veeam.Backup.Manager.exe).

04.09.2013 08:25:10
DCOM was unable to communicate with the computer "This server" using any of the configured protocols; requested by PID 93c (C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Veeam.Backup.Manager.exe).

04.09.2013 08:25:10
DCOM was unable to communicate with the computer "This server" using any of the configured protocols; requested by PID 93c (C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Veeam.Backup.Manager.exe).


the PID is changing randomly, each per day.

any hints for me?
horst
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:55 am
Location: GER

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:08 am

Since the problem is in accessing the COM Service on a local computer, could this be a DNS resolution issue, like it is described here? Does it affect your backups in any way?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby horst » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:48 am

thx for your hint, but editing the hosts file didn`t solve the problem :(

I`m wordering of the name "This server" which is shown in the error message.
I can find this description in the Veeam B&R at this place:

Image

Could there be a context here?

the VM-Backup jobs and the copy to tape jobs are not affected by this "error"
horst
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:55 am
Location: GER

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:56 am

horst wrote:I`m wordering of the name "This server" which is shown in the error message.

Yes, this is how the local server is referred to in Veeam B&R UI and that was why I suggested to try the above solution, as this clearly indicates that the issue is within a local computer (backup server, actually).

From the screenshot I can see that there's an RPC server error while adding this server to Veeam B&R console. Probably this is the root cause of your issue, so I recommend contacting support in order to resolve it.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby horst » Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:11 am

ok thx, I opened a support case.
horst
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:55 am
Location: GER

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:13 am

Keep us updated on how it is going.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby bdcarp0 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:22 pm

Hi, Im having the same exact issue and have spent hours on the phone with Veeam support and providing logs. Could you please let me know if you got this resolved and what you did to resolve it? Thanks for your time.
bdcarp0
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:20 pm

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby horst » Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:00 am 1 person likes this post

Hi, the Veeam Support is still working on this issue until now...
horst
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:55 am
Location: GER

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby Modaly_IT » Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:54 pm 2 people like this post

I had the exact same issue. To resolve it, this is what I did:

1. Add remote DCOM admin access via the following:

call netsh firewall set service RemoteAdmin enable
call netsh firewall add portopening protocol=tcp port=135 name=DCOM_TCP135

2. Reboot the server
3. Go into Backup Infrastructure and add the local server using the DNS name
4. Set up a new backup repository on the newly created backup server
5. Change the Configuration Backup to use the newly created repository
6. Remove all repositories that are listed against "This Server"

You should now be able to create backup jobs and in my case use the direct SAN method of backup with an Equallogic SAN (my original problem).
Modaly_IT
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:46 pm
Full Name: Maurice Daly

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby horst » Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:45 am

hi,

can you shortly describe yout setup please?!
horst
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:55 am
Location: GER

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby mmiller » Thu Jul 16, 2015 7:02 pm

We're seeing the exact same issue. It occurred immediately after installing VEEAM. Looking at the user interface, on the Files tab, there is a server called "This server" and it looks like it cannot be removed or edited.

What we're seeing is System Log errors in Event Viewer. They occur every 4 hours and given enough time there will be thousands of them;

Event ID 10009 : DCOM was unable to communicate with the computer This server using any of the configured protocols.

Immediately before the error we see this is the System Log;
The Microsoft Software Shadow Copy Provider service entered the running state.
Immediately after the service starts we get the Event ID 10009 error
Immediately after that, The Volume Shadow Copy service entered the stopped state.

Given that this issue was first reported back in 2013, and that VEEAM was working on it then (?) and the issue is still present, I'm guessing that fixing this error in the program is not too important?

We opened a case but it seemed that support did not understand and we were going to go off on a tangent.
mmiller
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 10:48 pm

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 17, 2015 9:28 am

What's your support case ID?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby Maurice » Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:09 am

I got the same error on a freshly installed Windows Server 2012 R2 with Veeam B&R Build 8.0.0.2030.
Is there any Solution about this or should i open a Support Case?
Maurice
Service Provider
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 7:59 am
Location: Münster, Germany
Full Name: Maurice Galicic

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:52 pm

I don't see any support case posted in this topic, so please contact our technical team directly and let us know your case ID.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: DCOM error in eventlog

Veeam Logoby Maurice » Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:36 am

Case ID: 00983121
Maurice
Service Provider
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 7:59 am
Location: Münster, Germany
Full Name: Maurice Galicic

Next

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests