Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
hbilke
Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2017 9:05 pm
Contact:

Failover Clustermanager configuration

Post by hbilke » Jan 08, 2019 9:06 am

One way to have Veeam tracking the IDs of backed up VMs is SCVMM or having all instances as roles within the failover cluster manager.

I have to configure an instance / role to absolutely NOT restart after a failure of a node. The infos I duckduckwent :D left me somewhat unclear whether it's sufficient to define the policies accordingly or have to define "no restart" of the role (VM) as configurable in the Hyper-v Management console or FOCM.

Any hints anyone?

Thanks
Harry

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3617
Liked: 636 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Failover Clustermanager configuration

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jan 08, 2019 9:49 am

Can you please describe what Veeam do in this situation? Do you do VM Replication or Backup with Veeam. Do you mean that after Veeam restore/failover the VM should not start?

Can you maybe explain why so that we can understand it better?

hbilke
Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2017 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Failover Clustermanager configuration

Post by hbilke » Jan 08, 2019 10:57 am

Veeam is in play because a moved "non-clustered" VM will not be successfully backed up - besides SCVMM or clusterd machine. So it's a side effect of using Veeam.

I have to be sure that the back ups will go on uninterrupted. I would put the VMs into clustered HA mode, but have to be sure that in case of a node failure, the instance won't be moved/started to another node and run from there.

I thought a fellow user of Veeam might have run into a similar problem - and I have to admit: it's not a Veeam-only problem.

Cheers
Harry

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3617
Liked: 636 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Failover Clustermanager configuration

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jan 08, 2019 11:55 am

I still have issues to understand the situation.

You have configured a Failover Cluster for Hyper-V with a Clustered Shared Volume or a SMB3 as datastore volume for the VMs.
You will add the Failover Cluster as Hyper-V Managemed Server object to Veeam.
Then you create backups for the VMs.
In that situation we do not do any kind of live migrations for the VM.

Now comes the part that I do not understand... why do you want to prevent the VM from being started at the other host in case of a disaster and one host goes offline?
Maybe this one helps? https://www.ravichaganti.com/blog/confi ... -machines/
or this one? https://www.itprotoday.com/virtualizati ... st-cluster

If you describe why you do not want that in case of downtime of one host the VMs are started on another host, we could potentially help you with this.

hbilke
Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2017 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Failover Clustermanager configuration

Post by hbilke » Jan 08, 2019 12:29 pm

The problem ist that in Germany there is a "Datev" - they are very, very finnacky what and when they support their application (you may have heard of'em).

I absolutely want to (re)start their server only "supervised".

Your two links in addition with some other findings will help me to set it up.

BTW: they still won't support instances that were backuped with their sql running....

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3617
Liked: 636 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Failover Clustermanager configuration

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jan 08, 2019 1:28 pm

Thanks for the feeback.
Yes I know Datev very well.
Maybe the last sentence is not correct anymore? I think it would be good to check with them for this specific point.

hbilke
Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2017 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Failover Clustermanager configuration

Post by hbilke » Jan 08, 2019 3:18 pm

During the last workshop in 12/2018, the techies: yes, we do it, it works but the support department stills says: no support.

Have a nice week

Harry

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests