First timer - So what is the best option in this scenario?

Hyper-V specific discussions

First timer - So what is the best option in this scenario?

Veeam Logoby newminted » Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:20 pm

Hi Guys
First time setting up Veeam B&R 8 with Hyper-V, so would appreciate thoughts on how I achieve what I have been asked to achieve.

There is a 2012R2 HV Server with 4 production VM's. The situation I am tasked with is highest availability/disaster recovery with the following available:

There is an identical replica server, located around 200 metres away at the end of a 10GB fibre link.

There is another server, not identical, but with HyperV and abundant disk space located 30km away with the two sites served by 10mbps EFM connections (1:1 Leased Line effectively)

There is another physical system which has Veeam installed ready to go!

We have Enterprise Plus so WAN accelerator is within our use.

How best do I configure this?

Thanks in advance!
newminted
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Phil Whitehead

Re: First timer - So what is the best option in this scenari

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:48 pm

Hi,

What's the OS on your Veeam server and what kind of network adapter do you have? Also what Os does your 30kms-away-server have?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: First timer - So what is the best option in this scenari

Veeam Logoby newminted » Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:04 pm

Yes, sorry should know better :)

The Veeam Server is a 2012R2 Standard system, the 'remote' system down the WAN link is 2008R2 with HyperV role at present but its no problem at all to provision that as 2012R2 Standard also.

Thanks.
newminted
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Phil Whitehead

Re: First timer - So what is the best option in this scenari

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Oct 29, 2015 12:08 pm

The Veeam Server is a 2012R2 Standard system
Does it have 10Gb interface as well? Also what kind of a production storage you Hyper-V hosts have? Is it iSCSI or NFS or some other?
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: First timer - So what is the best option in this scenari

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 29, 2015 12:19 pm

Also, what kind of disasters do you need to be covered from and what RTO is implied? ;)
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: First timer - So what is the best option in this scenari

Veeam Logoby newminted » Thu Oct 29, 2015 12:22 pm

No the Veeam server is only 1gbps, although this could be teamed upto 2gbps if it made much difference. The production and near replica hosts are HP Proliant DL380 Gen 9 servers with local attached disk storage only. Likewise, the Veeam server is Local attached disk storage.

They are looking for 'natural' disaster recovery with a relative amount of High Availability - hence the 'live' replica 200 meters away per chance of hardware failure/loss of the live system and the ability to recover from total loss of building/infrastructure hence the far/wan system. Recovery measured in minutes for loss of Live system, with an acceptance that recovery will be measured in hours in the event of total building loss.

Thanks.
newminted
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Phil Whitehead

Re: First timer - So what is the best option in this scenari

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:27 pm

Ok, then suggest you to setup you environment as follows:

1. Replication of all 4 VMs from Hyper-V1 to Hyper-V2, on-host proxies.

2. Use Veeam server as a backup repository.

3. Configure backup job to start during night hours, backups should go to Veeam server repo.

4. Configure backup copy job to start in 5 minutes after backup job starts. Backup copies should go to an offsite Hyper-V repository.

5. Configure WAN accelerators on both Veeam server and offsite Hyper-V.

In case of a Live system disaster you just fire up your replicas on the second Hyper-V instantly. In case of Smoking Hole In The Ground event you run instant recovery on your offsite Hyper-V or, optionally, you might want to create another set of replicas from your backup copies on that offsite Hyper-V. Also don't forget to have a backup of veeam server configs on all three sites.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests