Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 887
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

moved to ew b&r server incl. repository

Post by frankive » Apr 16, 2016 4:18 pm

We just moved to a new b&r server (v9).
We did a restore of the configuration database and moved the backup files.
Created new repository, imported backups and mapped the backup to the jobs.
The source sms is on the same cluster as it was before.

When we run a new job, it will actually create a incremental backup but the size is the same as a full backup.

When we do the same for the backup copy job to a cloud repository the same happens but it actually creates the the sms as new sms.
Even i we map the backup files, it insist to transfer all the data and actually create new Vms instead of just being a new restore point of the existing (yes, i have also rescanned the cloud repository and mapped the backup to the job. The same vm is in the job after the migration.

What may cause this?

Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18264
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: moved to ew b&r server incl. repository

Post by foggy » Apr 17, 2016 9:03 pm

frankive wrote:When we run a new job, it will actually create a incremental backup but the size is the same as a full backup.
This looks similar to as if VM ID's have changed. Do you see duplicate VM entries under the Backups node? I'd ask support to take a look at the database, VM ID's specifically.

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 887
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: moved to ew b&r server incl. repository

Post by frankive » Apr 18, 2016 6:08 am

Yes, it is duplicate. The funny part though is that when the duplicate "VM" is made in the backup, it actually removes a restore point from the other VM.
F.ex i have the server DC01 with 28 restore points.
After running the backup a few days, i have 2 DC01 server, 1 with 4 restore points, the other with 24 restore points...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18264
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: moved to ew b&r server incl. repository

Post by foggy » Apr 18, 2016 12:13 pm

The fact that VM's are duplicate after importing configuration is not expected, so please run this through our support for verification. Thanks.

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 887
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: moved to ew b&r server incl. repository

Post by frankive » Apr 18, 2016 4:14 pm

caseid 01765863

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests