Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 895
Liked: 106 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

multiple vlan for each customer - need access to veeamserver

Post by frankive » Apr 29, 2014 6:02 pm

2-node 2012 failover cluster hyper-v.

Does the Veeam backupserver need direct network access to each vm to do application aware processing? In our datacenter we separate each customer based on vlan. Do I need to add firewall reules for each vlan to get full access from the veeamserver to the vms? I though perhaps the hyper-v nocdes would use the integration services in hyper-v to perform the vss aware snapshot? The job willl fail with the default settings as long as I not open the network for each customer to the veeam server.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17047
Liked: 1470 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: multiple vlan for each customer - need access to veeamse

Post by veremin » Apr 30, 2014 6:55 am

The backup management server should be able to connect to administrative share of VMs in question in order to execute inside them run-time service that is required for AAIP. Thanks.

ChrisJ83Knights
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 10, 2017 3:06 pm
Full Name: Chris Johnson
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup VLAN

Post by ChrisJ83Knights » May 02, 2017 10:22 am

Hi

We are in the process of setting up a backup VLAN on our network, I understand I need to give the Hyper-V host a vNIC on the backup VLAN, do I also need to add a vNIC on the backup VLAN onto the VM's being backed up?

Or is all done at host level?

Many thanks

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1805
Liked: 229 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Backup VLAN

Post by DGrinev » May 02, 2017 3:00 pm

Hi Chris,

Network connection is required for application-consistent backups, you should add vNic to the backup server or configure routing between VLANs.
Also, review this helpcenter section for additional information on Used Ports.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests