Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
JeWe
Enthusiast
Liked: 9 times

Offhost Backup with iSCSI

Post by JeWe »

Hi,

I'm new to Veeam, just testing around with it at the moment.

We run several HyperV-VMs on a Netgear ReadyNAS3100 via iSCSI.
Just to make sure I got this right: There is no way to install Offhost Backup as there is no way to connect the HyperV host and the Backup Proxy to the same target?
I would need "real SAN" like Fibre Channel?

Regards
JeWe
Enthusiast

Re: Offsite Backup with iSCSI

Post by JeWe »

Sorry, I'm talking of OFFHOST Backup, not Offsite Backup. The question regards to Offhost Backup.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Offsite Backup with iSCSI

Post by foggy »

JeWe wrote:Just to make sure I got this right: There is no way to install Offsite Backup as there is no way to connect the HyperV host and the Backup Proxy to the same target?
Actually, you can connect multiple hosts to the same iSCSI target. Do you experience any issues during implementing your setup?
JeWe
Enthusiast

Re: Offhost Backup with iSCSI

Post by JeWe »

I can connect multiple hosts to the same iSCSI target? Not really, if I do this, the VMs will crash again and again. The target don't know which initiator requests data, so it works for a while until two initiators grab the same data at the target...
IMHO the SAN must support multiple hosts for the same target. Only thing I can do with the ReadyNAS is putting other LUNs onto the target. Doesn't change anything, as other LUNs present other data...
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Post by foggy »

Could you please give some details regarding your environment (at least Hyper-V hosts version and type of primary storage)? Thanks.
JeWe
Enthusiast

Post by JeWe »